professor_tammi: (serra)
(... and the subject is completely unrelated to the rest of this post, but it's also very true. It's a little unfortunate because they're kind of expensive!)

Merry Christmas! As a belated Christmas present, I'll gift a 2-month paid account to anyone who a) asks for one (by commenting on this post) and b) is currently on my flist. :D I'm not sure if people are interested in paid accounts right now, especially since there seems to be another one of those Dreamwidth-migrations going on, so... I figured it would be best to let people ask for them, I guess! Though I get the feeling I won't get any comments haha but I always get that feeling

As for the new commenting system... I still maintain that I like some of the added features, but I don't understand why they had to take away subject lines and the like. I can definitely see how that would ruin RP communities and journals like fandom!secrets! And now that I've read up a bit on the issue, these comments are very alarming, because if that's how the LJ staff members treat the userbase, then that's honestly not acceptable at all. :/ That guy has the attitude of a forum troll and it's pretty depressing to see.
(Hmm. I'm wondering if I should give DW a try.)

Um, and just in case anyone was interested in the Tellius FE MBTI-list thingy at all, I also made a tumblr post about it. Hopefully it's not as confusing to read as my last LJ entry was. Also, it has a pretty picture!
professor_tammi: (Default)
... so I haven't made a post in several weeks (again!), but instead of writing a proper journal entry, I'm just going to put my MBTI list for the FE9/10 characters here

Basically, I've tried to decide upon an MBTI type for all of the Tellius characters -- none of these are set in stone and I'm basically only doing it for fun, so um, if anybody has any input, that'd be great! Especially considering I seem to be kind of bad at typing people.

I considered writing down reasons and such, but I figured the list is already long enough as is, so I'm not really going to explain them in this post (but if somebody wants explanations for any of the characters, please comment :D) Though this isn't relevant to the interests of... anybody besides me, is it

(Also, in case somebody wants to take an MBTI test, this one is short and should work well enough.)

Here is the actual list, which I'm cutting because it's very tl;dr )
professor_tammi: (happy)
I'm not sure why I'm posting to LJ because I keep thinking "hey, this stuff isn't going to interest anybody on your flist"
but then I realized that it interests me, and so long as it does that, it should be ok to post things. I think. Probably.

1) I've been playing lots of games lately, sooo it's gameblogging time. (I kind of mostly intended to use this LJ for gameblogging, so why not!)

In which I write one paragraph about Super Mario Galaxy and four about Xenoblade )

2) So, Skyward Sword. I wouldn't really call myself a Zelda fan, because whenever I try to play a Zelda game I get stuck on the second dungeon because I'm so bad at puzzles and then I'm always all "nnnope, guess this series isn't for me" but
I've decided that, for once, I'm going to try to actually play a Zelda game. And beat it. Maybe I'll finally be able to understand why the series is so popular!

I don't usually get hyped up for Zelda games )

3) In other news, I haven't drawn anything in what feels like forever because I decided that, ultimately, video games + school > drawing fan art. It was probably a wise decision. (Though I've been wasting a lot of time trying to figure out which MBTI types the Tellius FE characters would have instead, so I'm not sure it's working particularly well and there are so many things I want to draw aslfjslfksd)

I feel bad for posting this entry because it's so ranty and weird so I will share this video of a kitty just in case there's somebody who hasn't seen it yet who comes across this post
... actually, what is that cat even doing? Is it feeling ok, because it looks sort of scared and now I feel bad for it :'(

ART POST.

Oct. 16th, 2011 11:06 pm
professor_tammi: (Default)
... because why not. Actually I'm not sure if reposting my art here is a good idea, but I'm going to do it anyway
I would post stuff to doodle_emblem if that wasn't so terrifying, but then again, these aren't technically doodles, are they? Hmm.


I finished the Chibiffrey and Chibilincia thingy after all! (I wanted to add a Lucia who'd tease Geoffrey about his ~serenading~, buuut I was too lazy to draw her. I'm probably just going to draw Lucia for Lucia13:th December, either way, because I mean. How could I not? :D)


Percival braiding Elphin's hair. Um, this was technically supposed to be for both a dA project and the "While Resting" FE 100 themes prompt, until I realized it didn't fit the prompt at all. Whoops I'll pretend it counts anyway since if they're not fighting they might as well be resting, right? Um. Yes.

Also I'm kind of realizing that my previews are frustratingly tiny, but posting my art directly onto LJ just looks silly so I guess I'll just keep making tiny previews. Or maybe I should use cuts
professor_tammi: (Default)
they look so silly it's kind of endearing, really

Also, the reason I don't post to LJ much is because thinking about posting to LJ occasionally causes me to have random bouts of depression (but not today, which is cool!)

1) In which I decide to rant about the Persona 4 anime )

This is only somewhat related, but I've always wondered what it'd be like to see an anime adaption of a video game which kept all of said game's story-related content, including side-quests and the like. The pacing would be really slow, yeah, but I'm still kind of curious as to how it'd turn out. (I can't help but to imagine a Tales of anime with fully animated and voiced skits, or an FE anime with all of the supports
... um I think I just really want a good FE anime)

2) Babbling about a Radiant Dawn Let's Play I decided to read for whatever reason )

3) This video of Phoenix Wright in Marvel vs Capcom is probably not really relevant to the interests of, well, the vast majority of the people on my flist, but I'm still posting about it here because
he attacks by throwing paper at his enemies
it's just so perfect
professor_tammi: (soren)
(yes I know nobody cares, but I'm going to make an overly elaborate post about this either way)
For once the subject is sort of relevant, because this post is going to be about the 20th Anniversary Artbook (I'm really late to the party but um) and what little of the Japanese in it I actually understand, which is barely anything, really, because I don't speak Japanese lol - actually, I'm surprised nobody has attempted to translate much of it yet also I would pay somebody to translate the entire book omg

First of all, there's a small amount of new art at the start of the book, almost all of which has been uploaded to this tumblr before (the only thing missing is a picture of Yuria, I think?), so just in case there's somebody out there who hasn't seen the artbook-exclusive stuff, I'll link it here:

Read more... )

In addition to this, there's some concept art at the end of the Tellius section (link because why not!). The text on the page mentions that the concept art was drawn for the games' CG scenes which is a bit odd considering Elincia's PoR battle outfit never actually appears in a CG movie? Either way, it'd make sense for the rest of the characters to have similar concept art, since it'd be hard to make 3D models for them otherwise. :D

The text next to Ike mentions how he keeps smaller accessories and a "small sword" which really looks more like a knife than anything else on his thigh; the text next to Soren says that "the timid Soren drawing on the lower right is very cute. Perhaps Ike scolded him..." so basically what I'm getting from that is that Ike is a jerk >:| but it's ok Ike, I still like you

Some other notes on the Tellius section:

Read more... )

Speaking of ending notes, if a character has a paired ending with another character, there will be a green box with the header "If..." below their profiles, which explains what happens in their paired endings and comments on them. ... I kind of wish I actually understood the comments in question but I don't whoops

The Magvel section has art of Mansel and Morva, which I haven't seen before! It's not in Serenes Forest's Gallery section for FE8, at least, but I'm still not entirely sure if their official art is artbook-exclusive or not. (If it is, I think I'll try snapping some photos of it because unreleased offical art sort of bugs me.)

If my Japanese ever gets good enough for me to actually understand the text in this book, I think I'm going to prioritize translating the profiles for the new RD characters since I'm curious about whether they might give hints about their personalities or not! So now I just have to spend a few years studying Japanese yaaay except I don't really want to because Kanji are pretty annoying
professor_tammi: (Default)
To be honest, my first reaction was "this art style is not good :|", but after watching the trailers and reading up on it, my opinion turned into "the gameplay looks fun and the 3D battles are cute and the music is nice but this art style is not good :|" I mean, it's basically a generic anime art style using the most bland color palette ever, not to mention that Liz's hair makes zero sense and I will whine forever about this ok

I've written a post on tumblr with a bunch of info here, for the curious (so you won't have to wade through Serenes Forest and GameFAQs for information, yay!) - I'll copypaste it, because it seems convenient:
Cut for list with info~ )
Also, can I just point out that Liz is Krom's sister (I'm apparently the only person who noticed this in the trailers which is kind of surprising!) and therefore rather unlikely to be the love interest (yes, I know it's FE, but uh. no.)? I am a little worried that they'll end up essentially being Ike and Mist expies - well, except that Krom is probably going to be a prince and, by extension, Liz might be some sort of princess. Also, I really hope IS isn't making the new lord really similar to Ike because they want Krom to replace him in SSB4, because... that's the first thing that comes to mind! ;_; I am so pessimistic lately why
professor_tammi: (Default)
I'm even starting to forget how to use proper punctuation, man (at least my entries aren't written in ALLCAPS... yet)
But anyway, I drew an embarrassed singing Chibiffrey! I've never drawn a chibi before, so chances are this looks completely horrible and I just haven't realized it yet, but um I'll post it either way



I'm considering actually shading him properly and drawing a Chibilincia for him to sing for, because that sounds cute ♥ I will probably do that when I stop being lazy!

... I'm technically supposed to be drawing that Elphin/Percival thingy, but I've been struck with a sudden inspiration to draw fem!Ike. Yes. Her name will be Ikea, thereby enabling me to make lots and lots of unfunny furniture jokes (it's obviously the perfect name for fem!Ike)
professor_tammi: (Default)
(I ended up deleting and remaking my post because the HTML got so messed up when I went to edit it somehow - I'm really, really sorry to whomever actually commented, but editing the HMTL wasn't helping either ;A; I am just going to ignore any formatting errors this time)

1) This is a rather odd topic to bring up (I mean, I always bring up odd topics, but still), but I see a lot of artists talking about how they always have these perfect pictures in their heads that they want to put down on paper, and the more I think about it, the more it seems to me that I can't really relate. I do have a general idea of what I want to draw, obviously - but I'm very bad at actually picturing things, which is probably part of the reason composition gives me so much trouble. I can't imagine pictures properly most of the time, so I don't know what I want my art to look like until I actually try drawing something. ... maybe drawing thumbnails could be a good solution, though~

I'm kind of trying to figure out if this is just a result of poor planning on my part or me being more of an auditive thinker than a visual one. Probably both, since I've noticed I can't visualize scenes in books too well, either. It's kind of making me wish I had some kind of musical talent, but I really don't. At all. :')

2) I had the sudden inspiration to start an Tellius!FE-themed playthrough of a Pokémon game a while ago, and so I decided to replay Pokémon Colosseum, which I've come to realize might not have been a good idea since there are only 50 catchable pokémon but um
... I did it anyway

please LJ don't mess this cut up )
3)Also, I talk about meta month without writing any real meta )

Also, since I'm sort-of-but-not-really on the topic of Archanea anyway - does anybody know if the Marth/Sheeda or Marth/Merric supports from FE12 have been translated? I know there's a thread on Serenes Forest about Shin Monshou with some translations, but I don't recall those specific supports being there, and I'm kind of curious about them~ (I'd like to try translating them myself, but my Japanese is awful so I'd probably fail horribly)
professor_tammi: (sanaki)
The one everyone else has been doing, of course! (Stolen from... still pretty much everyone?)

Name a character from one of my fandoms and I will tell you:

A) My OTP for them
B) The runner up
C) The anti-ship
D) My unpopular fannish opinion on said character
E) One person he/she never fell in love with, and why


see I usually don't do memes on LJ because I always have this feeling that nobody's going to comment, but um. I'll give it a try, at least. (My main fandom is obviously FE [6-10], but I'm up for discussing characters from Tales of Symphonia too - I don't tend to ship that much for other fandoms, though, but feel free to ask either way.)

---

In other news, I watched Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part Two a few days ago and spent most of the movie trying to decide whether I should be crying or giggling over it. I ended up doing both, unsurprisingly. ... I wanted to do a proper post on it, and maybe I will someday, but for now I'll just leave this (spoilery!) video here because I will never not find this moment hilarious. :D it's just so hammy

art post

Aug. 19th, 2011 11:48 pm
professor_tammi: (fe10)
Art post time! I'll try not to tl;dr about unrelated things for once. And I'm not sure how my coloring style went from watercolor to lineless to cel-shaded, but... somehow it did? Also, I've bothered to make ~proper thumbnails~ this time, so uh, hopefully that's a good thing!


Heather/Fiona Feather angels! Drawn for iridescentice. Apparently I've drawn more Heather/Fiona than anything else at this point, lol


Merric, whom I drew after finishing Shadow Dragon because he's honestly kind of adorable and also I just have a thing for mages ♥ Considering that I'm normally terrible at lineless art, it turned out surprisingly well.


Amelie from Ghost Trick, who I'm pretty sure nobody on my flist knows anything about. ... she looks considerably older than in her in-game art, for some reason? Maybe this could be a future!Amelie.

(... ugh it feels so weird to post something with so little text lol. should I use a cut or shouldn't I, I can't decide :|)
professor_tammi: (Default)
... that is actually a legitimate question, because I seem to get tumblr but livejournal is kind of confusing for me, mostly because I'm too scared to really friend people. :'o I think I am going to try watching/friending/whatever all of those FE meta LJs even if it seems creepy because I've been wanting to do that for a while, so, um. Yeah. And yes I have kind of been neglecting LJ in favor of tumblr

1) This is a sort of rant on the whole LJ vs tumblr thing )

Oh, and also I think it'd be nice if LJ had a like button! I tend to be too scared to comment on fics and such with a simple "hi this is awesome" comment because I've read too much about authors complaining that they hate getting short reviews or something, so um
yeah I'd just like it if there was a like button (Pun not intended. I think.)

2) Also, Shadow Dragon rant, which is probably long overdue and for some reason I talk about pairings a lot )

3) I feel like I've talked enough about Ghost Trick on tumblr already (albeit in private messages, so it might not even count), but can I just say that I think it's a lovely game? ♥ I don't know if this is bad or not but I think I'm starting to like it more than the Ace Attorney series. I guess the small fandom makes things less scary to me, too.

I'm rather shocked by the lack of subtext in Ghost Trick, though, considering it's made by the same people who made Phoenix Wright and all. The only pairing that comes to mind for it is Bailey/his grumpy NPC cop buddy with no given name, which had the most obvious subtext ever, clearly (I mean I can't be the only one who noticed that, can I). It seems like Jeego/Tengo is sort of popular, from poking around the fandom, but that's technically a crack pairing so I'm not sure what to make of it? Um. It strikes me as a pretty friendship-oriented fandom, really. I'm ok with that.

(the next time I post here I think I'm just going to do a fan art dump, even though I don't really draw much, since lumping art together with ranty posts tends to look super messy)
professor_tammi: (micaiah)
(Apologies for the title, kitties have almost nothing to do with this post. The Big Bang Theory does though!)

I wrote most of this entry close to a week ago, but LJ wouldn't let me post for several days, and after that there was the whole DDOS issue, plus me getting ready for taking the ship back to Sweden so that is basically my reason for not posting in forever. Sorry about that!

1) I figure I might as well crosspost this Heather/Fiona Ace Attorney fingerpointing art everywhere, because why not )

Since I'm on the topic of an FE/AA crossover, may I just add that I've noticed that Lucia and Franziska both have short blue-ish hair, and that randomly made me imagine Lucia with a whip, which is very amusing to me for some reason. :'D

2) i've been watching so much big bang theory that I started thinking in Sheldon's voice )

3) I'd been wanting to watch - or well, sort of rewatch - Hetalia for a while because a) the idea of anthropomorphic countries still seems really cute to me, b) I want to know how they'll portray Sweden and Poland and c) it involves two Japanese voice actors I like a lot (this is how I decide which animes I watch), so I watched the first season and my reactions were mostly this:
"I have no idea what is going on" pretty much sums it up )
In a sense Hetalia is sort of similar to Homestuck to me, in that they both have massive fandoms that make me get really curious about them but then when I try them out, I just end up feeling really confused. Though in Hetalia's case, it's more because of the pacing than anything else, I think. Maybe I should try the manga, but I'm not sure.
professor_tammi: (ike/soren)
1)Crossposted art time. Zelda fan art (surprisingly) and an Ike/Soren thing (unsurprisingly). And look, I'm using previews for once! )

Since I'm rambling about art either way, I'm wondering if my inability to doodle doesn't have something to do with the fact that I'm really bad with expressions and at not being a perfectionist? I guess I'll have to force myself to study that. Well, you can't really study the latter, but still.

2) I comment on the Innes debate that happened over at emblanon, instead of commenting on the actual meme, for some reason. )

Since I'm on the topic of Magvel ships either way... I thought about Lute/Vanessa yesterday, and I'm really unsure of how that would work out, lol. b-but it does sound kind of cute

3) Also, real life nonsense! :D )
professor_tammi: (soren)
1) I think part of the reason I haven't posted anything is because I feel odd about posting without having any art at all to show. I've been having a lot of trouble with drawing lately, it seems? I finish something and then just decide I don't like the picture after all. :| It's a little worrisome, because I feel I should be using this summer to draw as much as possible, and I'm failing spectacularly at it. so, tl;dr: I feel bad about the lack of art

2) Game of Thrones rant! I know nobody cares, and I'm just putting down my thoughts, so I'll cut it. :D )

By the way, since I am obsessed with comparing everything to FE, I made this. Feel free to judge me.

3) Um, the thing on the anon meme about elitism... I'm not sure what even happened there, to be honest? When I hear the word "elitism", I think of serious competitive Pokémon players who feel the need to force people to not use certain pokémon because their stats are bad (oh, this sure sounds familiar, doesn't it. I wonder what other Nintendo RPG has this problem)

Obviously that doesn't apply here. Though it does remind me of one other thing I've been meaning to rant about, sort of: I don't really like it when people claim fluffy and/or shippy fan fics don't have any artistic merit. I think they do. People will generally define "art" as anything meant to evoke some kind of emotion in you, but honestly, the more common way people approach things involves only classifying something as art if it's a) beautiful, or b) angsty. But personally, I'll often seek out fics that make me happy (be it through romance or comedy or something entirely different), and I don't think that makes them ~worth less~ than other kinds of fiction at all. I know this is a really bizarre tangent, but... yeah.

Edit: oh, and apparently today is supposed to be international kissing day? I guess I'll celebrate by reading fan fiction ♥
professor_tammi: (louise)
1) I'm not entirely sure what this is about. Something to do with video games and Hector and political parties? What. )

2) This is the last Avatar rant, I promise )

3) ... so I was looking out my window a few hours ago, and suddenly I saw a sort of blue-orange-ish thing with a tail trailing after it fall down.
was it comet? I seriously wish I knew what it was, because it's really bugging me. what if it was a falling star
(maybe I should just make a wish!)

Oh, and in order to somewhat offset the blandness of this post, have an adorable gif of a dog (which is totally different from an adorable gif of a cat)!:

(I'm sorry, I just had to share it with someone)
professor_tammi: (Default)
... actually I'm not too sure if it even is whiny, but. orz

1) Srs shipping question! I don't think I'll get any answers to this, but um - am I the only person who finds the idea of really shipping two characters while only really caring about half of the ship a little odd? Actually, "odd" probably isn't the right word at all for this, but. Personally, I can't really imagine, say, OTPing something if I only really like one of the characters in the pairing. I can understand liking them to various degrees (in fact, this is very common), or merely liking the way they interact with each other, of course. But if I'm going to pair up two characters, I feel I should be at least somewhat invested in them both; there's not that much of a point to shipping if I can't really get into their heads, imo.

(Then again, I am notoriously bad at truly understanding most characters, I think. It's easy when there's something personal for me to relate to, but otherwise... I just tend to have a lot of trouble with it. I guess this is why I'm not a writer!)

2) This is another short Avatar rant. But it's slightly longer than the last one. )

3) I can't seem to keep quiet about japanese FE9/10 fandom it seems so instead I rant about it )

4) Firefox 5 is kind of cool! Or, well, I'm not sure if it's because of FF5 or not, but my Firefox is currently not lagging and crashing like crazy which hasn't happened in more than a month since I upgraded to Firefox 4. Also, it uses up less memory than FF4. That is pretty awesome. Um hopefully I didn't jinx it by calling it awesome. Every time I think I've solved my ~Firefox problems~ they seem to appear again, so. Yeah.

... right, now I just need to figure out why my computer constantly freezes :D
professor_tammi: (Default)
... I was actually planning on getting things done today (and by "getting things done" I probably meant "draw fan art"), amazingly enough, but then I found a link to TVTropes on tumblr aaand
well
yeah there went my day. :| Time to procrastinate some more I guess.

1) Short Avatar: TLA rant )

2) Things I should probably do during summer break: draw lots of fan art, watch more Avatar, watch the ASoIaF adaption since apparently it's really good, and uh. Play video games. I should try to learn how to not fail horribly at Brawl, for example.

I have no idea how to play that game so I just end up dying over and over again. Also I refuse to use continues most of the time, so at the moment I have a huge pile of 8000+ coins just... sitting there, I guess. Seriously though, how do you get good at SSBB? I don't understand ;__; is it because I keep using Ike. Is that the problem

3) Crossposted art time. Have some (old) Nanna and (newer) Geoffrey/Elincia art under the cut. )

... so um I should get started on drawing WeepyDrunk!Heather now. :'D (... haha I feel so odd for not just constantly drawing my OTP)
professor_tammi: (Default)
Not too sure why I’m posting in my LJ since I’m supposed to be not failing at doing my homework and such, but mostly I just felt like ranting, I guess.

1) Personal stuff or something idk )

2) On ~DeviantART netiquette~ )

3) Crossposting art – I wonder if it's a good idea? I’ve been considering posting art on my LJ or tumblr, but I’m a little unsure on the matter for some reason. Perhaps there’d be more variety if I kept my WIPs on LJ and posted finished stuff on dA, but the problem is that my sketches are incredibly ugly and I pretty much always finish what I start anyway. (Wait, that’s not much of a problem. It’s actually really awesome. I am totally ok with this.)

4) Zelda rant, sort of. )

... I've considered "redrawing" the FE:RD portraits, though I don't feel I'm anywhere skilled enough as an artist and I wouldn't know how to do them in the same style. Still, it could be a potentially interesting project sometime in the future when I'm done with the FE 100 themes thing and hopefully I'll be a halfway decent artist by then lol self like that'll ever happen
professor_tammi: (micaiah)
... so mostly my reaction was "no new FE? ;o; bawww" but obviously FE games are pretty much never going to be shown at E3 (RD being an obvious exception), so I guess I can keep hoping IS will announce a new FE game sometime later this year. Maybe. Hopefully.

Oh, but apparently there's going to be a new SSB game (on both 3DS and WiiU no less), and you can't have SSB without Fire Emblem, right? It's better than nothing. :D

Some other random thoughts:

There isn't anything interesting here tbh )

Also, I was replaying the Pokémon TCG for my Gameboy (yes this game actually exists and it is incredibly awesome) because I suddenly felt like playing a ~retro game~, and two of the characters you can duel in the Grass Gym are named Heather and Brittany, and I was like "well that would be an interesting crossover pairing"

I think I have a problem.

Profile

professor_tammi: (Default)
professor_tammi

December 2011

S M T W T F S
    12 3
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526 2728293031

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 05:06 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios