professor_tammi: (Default)
... that is actually a legitimate question, because I seem to get tumblr but livejournal is kind of confusing for me, mostly because I'm too scared to really friend people. :'o I think I am going to try watching/friending/whatever all of those FE meta LJs even if it seems creepy because I've been wanting to do that for a while, so, um. Yeah. And yes I have kind of been neglecting LJ in favor of tumblr

1) This is a sort of rant on the whole LJ vs tumblr thing )

Oh, and also I think it'd be nice if LJ had a like button! I tend to be too scared to comment on fics and such with a simple "hi this is awesome" comment because I've read too much about authors complaining that they hate getting short reviews or something, so um
yeah I'd just like it if there was a like button (Pun not intended. I think.)

2) Also, Shadow Dragon rant, which is probably long overdue and for some reason I talk about pairings a lot )

3) I feel like I've talked enough about Ghost Trick on tumblr already (albeit in private messages, so it might not even count), but can I just say that I think it's a lovely game? ♥ I don't know if this is bad or not but I think I'm starting to like it more than the Ace Attorney series. I guess the small fandom makes things less scary to me, too.

I'm rather shocked by the lack of subtext in Ghost Trick, though, considering it's made by the same people who made Phoenix Wright and all. The only pairing that comes to mind for it is Bailey/his grumpy NPC cop buddy with no given name, which had the most obvious subtext ever, clearly (I mean I can't be the only one who noticed that, can I). It seems like Jeego/Tengo is sort of popular, from poking around the fandom, but that's technically a crack pairing so I'm not sure what to make of it? Um. It strikes me as a pretty friendship-oriented fandom, really. I'm ok with that.

(the next time I post here I think I'm just going to do a fan art dump, even though I don't really draw much, since lumping art together with ranty posts tends to look super messy)
professor_tammi: (Default)
... actually I'm not too sure if it even is whiny, but. orz

1) Srs shipping question! I don't think I'll get any answers to this, but um - am I the only person who finds the idea of really shipping two characters while only really caring about half of the ship a little odd? Actually, "odd" probably isn't the right word at all for this, but. Personally, I can't really imagine, say, OTPing something if I only really like one of the characters in the pairing. I can understand liking them to various degrees (in fact, this is very common), or merely liking the way they interact with each other, of course. But if I'm going to pair up two characters, I feel I should be at least somewhat invested in them both; there's not that much of a point to shipping if I can't really get into their heads, imo.

(Then again, I am notoriously bad at truly understanding most characters, I think. It's easy when there's something personal for me to relate to, but otherwise... I just tend to have a lot of trouble with it. I guess this is why I'm not a writer!)

2) This is another short Avatar rant. But it's slightly longer than the last one. )

3) I can't seem to keep quiet about japanese FE9/10 fandom it seems so instead I rant about it )

4) Firefox 5 is kind of cool! Or, well, I'm not sure if it's because of FF5 or not, but my Firefox is currently not lagging and crashing like crazy which hasn't happened in more than a month since I upgraded to Firefox 4. Also, it uses up less memory than FF4. That is pretty awesome. Um hopefully I didn't jinx it by calling it awesome. Every time I think I've solved my ~Firefox problems~ they seem to appear again, so. Yeah.

... right, now I just need to figure out why my computer constantly freezes :D
professor_tammi: (Default)
... to be fair, I already watched the first three episodes ages ago, but still. Now that I'm actually not a rage-filled thirteen-year-old, I figured I'd actually be able to see the anime without getting angry about everything.
(And I was right, thankfully! Fandoms are a lot more fun when you don't rage at the drop of a hat, I've noticed. But that's off-topic. Sort of.)

I talk about the OVA and then randomly reminisce about my earlier fandom days )

... also, I was thinking about what my stance on angst ships really is, because obviously I do like certain forms of angst, and... I came to the conclusion that I just like my ships to be happy once the characters actually get together. Angst before that is fine. Actually, it's inevitable the vast majority of the time, really. It's just that I don't usually like pairings where one or both characters feel sort of unhappy with the other or somehow incomplete in the end. ... does that even make sense? I don't really know. orz But this is why I can't really come up with any "angst ships" I really enjoy. I think.
professor_tammi: (Default)
(Apologies in advance if this post seems incredibly messy and disorganized. My posts are pretty much always like that, but)

I think this was supposed to be meta on how FE fan fics deal with homophobia but then I go off-topic like always. Then again, I'm probably not the right person to even talk about this, so. )
(Edit: I always feel terrified of discussing things like this because somehow, I feel like I'm going to unintentionally offend someone no matter what I say. ;_; And also because I'm terrible at clarifying my thoughts and getting them across.)

A-also I watched the Glee season 2 finale, and uh
This is only cut for really mild spoilers. I don't have much to say at all. )

This is pretty unrelated to the rest of this post, which is already kind of random and disjointed, but... after searching for Ike/Elincia fics for a while because apparently I'm a masochist who wants to see my OTP get broken up or something idgi, I've concluded that, yeah, while I don't really understand straight!Ike at all, that's not the only reason I didn't find most of them interesting. There's also the problem of him constantly being portrayed as a romantic sap, and I'm just like "nnnope I don't even know who this person is"

And I've finally figured out why Firefox 4 was crashing roughly once every 5 minutes earlier today - apparently it was because I had hardware acceleration turned on. Good to know, I suppose, but it would've been nicer if it hadn't kept crashing while I was searching for a solution to the problem, forcing me to restart it the entire time which is incredibly frustrating because I have around 100+ tabs open at any given moment, and every time it crashed I had to reload everything and argh
and now it still crashes every few hours
We're not friends anymore, Firefox. :|
professor_tammi: (Default)
The "I am forever behind the times" tag is really relevant here, btw. So relevant that it was created just for this post! (But it applies to all of my posts.)

I sort of needed to do this because the only pairing I've actually discussed at length is ~my OTP forever~, and I've always enjoyed reading about why different pairings interest different people. Though for some reason, I rarely see people attempt to offer explanations for why they ship or don't ship things (I don't think "it's TOO POPULAR" is much of an argument, though). Especially on forums, where pairing topics tend to boil down to people posting long lists of things they ship with some added ship bashing at the end for the heck of it which then quickly escalates into a shipping war. It tends to confuse me a bit. (Wouldn't that be a good way of avoiding shipping wars - just talking it out? Um. Maybe I'm wrong. I'm not sure.)

But yeah, I've already gone off-topic. Whoops. Who would've guessed.

I randomly decide to discuss Geoffrey/Elincia and Ike/Elincia )

Also I was browsing dA as always, and while I already knew about the existence of Soren/Link, I was rather miffed to find out that it has a fanclub with no less than 73 members. I mean, to be fair, the founder is well aware that is is complete crack, but
Soren/Link, what is this I don't even

(My computer froze twice while I was writing this by the way. I should probably do something about that. It froze 5 times yesterday. I don't even know what the problem is ;o;

I wanted to discuss other ships (like Heather ships!), but I'm really tired and it's late and I need sleep so maybe some other time)
professor_tammi: (Default)
That title is probably going to fit pretty well, actually. This is going to be a very messy and disorganized post. I think.

Where I rant about FE fandom newbies and fandom!secrets and emblanon. I don't even know. )

And, uh.. is it just me, or is FE really really easy/fun to randomly crossover with everything? I mean, I've seen it get crossed over with Pokémon and Persona and Tales of and Glee and itself and
well
almost everything

But why isn't there a random FE/Twilight crossover yet, and why am I thinking about this )
professor_tammi: (soren)
I'm lurking on FE-related tumblrs like the creeper I am, and I'm seeing some slightly old but still interesting posts, and I just... I think I get why Soren is such a controversial character, now. There are way too many different ways to interpret him.

I rant about how fandom interprets Soren as a character. Cut for sheer length. )

(lol this almost got ship manifesto-ish at the end

... I want an Ike/Soren ship manifesto. Baww ;_; I'm not writing that others are a lot more qualified)

Okay so I really wish I could just reply to that tumblr post with this, but the age-old forum rule of "no bumping" means I've learned never to reply to old things. ... and I don't even have a tumblr account, anyway.

Edit: ah. Looking over this now, it's really rambly and incoherent. That's what I get for posting stuff at 3 AM. (Maybe I should make a  seperate tag for that. "rambly incoherent rant, don't bother reading")
professor_tammi: (Default)
I, uh... I actually don't have many characters I really hate, most of the time. Sure, there are several I'm indifferent towards, and some I dislike, but outright hate? - nope.

But do I have a least favorite character in the FE series? Yes. Roy. It's a rather mild dislike, really, but I still don't like him.

Perhaps the main reason is his personality, or lack thereof. I don't know if the translation patch is making his dialogue seem more wooden than it's really supposed to be (I'm very glad that such a patch exists at all, of course, but I definitely don't believe the "localization" portion of it was perfect), but to me, Roy never felt like a proper character. I just can't find any words with which I'd describe him; I could certainly describe his actions as, well, mostly just and befitting a hero, but his personality? No. It's just not there, imo. Which makes it even more bizarre when half 7 of the game's girls can potentially fall for him in no time flat. What do they even see in him? This kind of reeks of typical harem anime-lead syndrome, to me. The women all fall in love with the main guy for no real reason at all. Welp.

This is a bit of a tangent, but... the above makes me feel really annoyed when I see people talking about SSBM!Roy as if he did, indeed, have a personality. The almost shockingly common characterization of him as a hotblooded, reckless young boy I've seen in the SSB fandom (which, to be perfectly honest, is pretty unavoidable - if you spend a lot of time reading about games on the 'net, you're bound to come across SSB fanwork eventually) is just plain wrong when compared to his self in Sword of Seals. But on the other hand, do I really want people to fawn over what I see as a rather boring character instead? I guess I can't really fault others for making up their own personality for him. Especially when, no matter how clichéd said personality is, it's... still better than his canon one, because at least it's something.

Toning down the criticism of Roy for a minute, though, I have to say that his supports with Wolt are actually quite cute. He seems to share a common trait with many other FE lords, that trait being his ability to only truly open up around his closest friend. As most FE players probably know, the lords usually have some kind of childhood friend (of the same gender) they're very attached to; Roy is no exception in this regard, but in those particular supports I always felt that the slight hint of an actual personality was starting to shine through. Which makes sense, given that childhood friends should probably feel at ease around each other.

I've always found FE lords rather fascinating, in the sense that so many of them have very subtle personalities in spite of being surrounded by incredibly colorful casts - which I've mentioned before, but I think it bears repeating. There are some obvious exceptions to this, such as Lyn and Hector, but the vast majority are rather subdued - the Renais twins, Eliwood, and occasionally Micaiah all have this in common - and to really understand them, you might have to dig around a bit, giving special attention to certain scenes and supports in particular (for example, compare the way Eirika acts with Forde to the way she acts with, say, Seth; there's quite a difference). Then you get lords like Roy or Sigurd, who, as I said previously, just don't feel like true "characters" to me. (And then there's Ike, who I feel is a bit of a blend of the colorful and subtle types, though I've seen plenty of people call even him personality-less, so... meh. I guess I'll just have to disagree.)

I guess what I'm trying to say is... I usually expect very little from lords. I go into most FE games assuming they won't be particularly interesting characters. I usually try my hardest to find anything that could possibly prove these expectations wrong, and many times, I do. But when I don't, I have the same dilemma as with Roy - an incredibly bland main character surrounded by lots of colorful secondary characters who, more often than not, constantly sing his praise. It feels wrong to me. In these cases, the lord just feels out of place.

(... ugh I'm probably not making any sense I only slept 4 hours last night, please forgive me orz
It seems like I always go kind of meta-y when trying to answer rather simplistic meme questions? Umm. I think I'm just weird like that. And then I still end up failing to get my point across

I just tried looking up the definition of meta-discussion, by the way. These explanations are giving me a headache.)
professor_tammi: (micaiah)
Day 6: How many FEs have you played?
I've played 4, 6, 7, 8, 9 and 10 so far, though I am planning on eventually playing the DS games and Thracia as well. I don't really see much to discuss here, and since it kind of ties into Day 7's question, I'll just go ahead and answer them both~.

Day 7: Favorite game in the series

Rather obviously, my favorites are the Tellius games (just look at the size of the fe9/10 tag relative to my other tags!). I prefer to think of them as two parts of the same story, which is why I usually lump them together. If I really had to pick one, though, it'd have to be Path of Radiance. This decision is really only based on the fact that PoR has supports and RD doesn't - I am never going to get over the fact that IS neglected to include any real support conversations in RD. I love the fluffy, happy moments they bring with them, as well as the character development and inter-party banter. So, um. I like RD a more in almost all other aspects, though - gameplay, main storyline and graphics in particular.

Speaking of graphics... I really think FE9 has the worst graphics in the entire series, NES games excepted, in spite of it being my favorite FE game ever. The 3D models just looks really awful and the animations are generally lifeless. RD was a fairly huge improvement in this regard; it even added victory poses! ♥ Though on the other hand, RD also has those awful character portraits. What did they do to Astrid? And Titania. And Rolf. And Soren. A-and... :((

... um this is more than a little off-topic, isn't it. Anyway.

I don't really get the chance to rant about FE7 or FE8 when answering this meme's questions since they usually pertain to your favorites (of which the vast majority will, of course, be from the Tellius games), but I love them as well. I'd say FE7 is placed a little higher than FE8 for me, but both are really amazing games, and both have many characters I love. I would add a comment about how sad FE8 hate makes me you'd think I would be used to hatedoms by now, seriously but, actually... it has a lot of fans on LJ and nobody here seems to write essays on how terrible and clichéd the story is or whatever, so... I don't really feel like complaining for once! It's nice to see the Magvel love here.

As for my least favorite, it's FE4. I've, admittedly, written about this several times before, but.... I don't hate the game. Not at all. But I could never get into it, and the hypocrisy of the many FE4 fanboys I've seen before kind of soured me on the game. I mean, no offense to FE4 fans, but I've seen people rave on and on about how Seisen no Keifu is "the pinnacle of videogame storytelling, gameplay and character development, and you're and idiot/insane/retarded if you think otherwise!". Especially when the same people who praised Genealogy's character development then immediately turn around and bash FE10 for "not having any, because it doesn't have supports!". Just. What? Neither does Seisen. Yes, RD would have been quite a bit better with supports, but it's an amazing game even without them (and at least it has base conversations for this kind of thing - a lot of the characters in FE4 felt rather underdeveloped to me and many who seemed like they could have been interesting desperately lacked screentime).

I guess I'm just angry because people tend to bash RD so much. Lol I'm glad I've stopped reading the GameFAQs forums, but... I can't exactly forget all of that nonsense and keeping it in isn't really helping. I just have to rant about everything I've ever read. It's what I do!

Also I can't think of a good reason to use a cut this time around... um. I guess I'll just... not use one. I have never not used a cut before this feels really weird
professor_tammi: (quinn)
... well...
it's kind of... lol

I think "ridiculous" works too (just in case "lol" isn't a good enough adjective for describing this sort of thing).

I guess I don't really care about most of the hate. I mean, I actually enjoyed Code Geass, Fire Emblem: The Sacred Stones and Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World so obviously my taste in storytelling must be terrible (at least according to most of the internet), but. This is what bugs me:

Cut for spoilers [I finally have a good reason for using a cut. Awesome!] )

I just don't understand why people think obviously opinionated and flawed characters (Kurt in particular; I like him a lot but he is kind of a jerk) are supposed to be some kind of role models, I guess. Why does everything have to be a "message"? Am I being too idealistic when I expect people to realize that this is a fictional high-school romcom about singing and shouldn't be taken overly seriously? Idk but I wanted to get this off my chest.

I guess I could understand why the last one is somewhat annoying, because the subplot itself was mostly pointless and Kurt was proven "right" in the end (instead of learning something from it), but as long as it presents several views on the matter, I don't really see the need to feel offended by this.

Then again, this is fandom!secrets I'm talking about, where people get offended by My Little Pony, but still. I've seen the same arguments in several places and I am completely confounded by this hate (I can understand disliking the show for many other reasons though, I'm not trying to say it's ~perfect and shiny and awesome~).

I was going to say that I'm glad FE doesn't usually have this kind of hatewank but then I remembered seeing the comments to this video just a few days ago. Seriously just at look at these comments. The general stupidity/wank/weirdness is kind of astounding. And hilarious. (I still think that last exchange is awesome, though. I can't stop laughing at it!)

Given how prone I am to defending everything I like I should just stay away from the hate altogether. I'm sorry I keep seeing this everywhere and I just feel I have to say something about it sometimes. I just feel the need to explain why I like certain things orz
professor_tammi: (fe10)
... especially since they're my favorite games in the series and all.

I highly doubt this post will make any sense )

... I'm not sure if I actually came to any conclusions here. At least I tried? orz (Also, I really don't want to offend anyone - so if someone who isn't me ever reads this and feels offended, I'm sorry. That's wasn't my intention.)
professor_tammi: (Default)
And... it's actually a fun game. Even in single-player. I guess I don't really understand why some people insist it's impossible to play without others, but. I don't know. But I'm a lonely nerd so I doubt I'd ever get to play with anyone else either way. :)

Gigantic rant, mostly about the portrayal of the FE characters. And also about me actually enjoying the Subspace Emissary. Especially the cutscenes. ♥ )

I'm glad I bought the game, to be honest. I was very reluctant to do so at first, but it's a cute game as long as you stay away from most of the internet drama.
professor_tammi: (micaiah)
I realize I miiight be a few years late to post this, but I've always wanted to say something about it. I tend to lurk on forums, which leads to a lot of opinions I never get to actually share with anybody, but whenever someone came into a thread in order to bash Micaiah for "being a Mary-Sue", there was always one particular issue I never really saw anyone address. And it still bugs me. So, umm.

The other characters do not ignore Micaiah's decisions during Part III. )

There are plenty of other things people bring up when attempting to prove to others that Micaiah is a Mary Sue, but this is the only one I wanted to address (um, and hopefully I managed to do that? ... maybe?). I've seen great counter-arguments against almost everything else, so I didn't want to retread old ground. Though I probably most definitely did it anyway. Whoops.

(I was wondering about whether I should have a separate fandom and hatedom tag, but most people seem to use the terms interchangeably... huh. That's kind of curious. I'm sticking with just a fandom tag, anyway.)

Profile

professor_tammi: (Default)
professor_tammi

December 2011

S M T W T F S
    12 3
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526 2728293031

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 07:39 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios