professor_tammi: (Default)
[personal profile] professor_tammi
... that is actually a legitimate question, because I seem to get tumblr but livejournal is kind of confusing for me, mostly because I'm too scared to really friend people. :'o I think I am going to try watching/friending/whatever all of those FE meta LJs even if it seems creepy because I've been wanting to do that for a while, so, um. Yeah. And yes I have kind of been neglecting LJ in favor of tumblr

1) I have to admit I actually find the whole LJ vs tumblr war kind of hilarious and very silly (in the same sense that I find the tumblr vs facebook war hilarious), but either way I don't see why people are against just... using both? They both have their pros and cons, after all. I guess the main reason that comes to mind would be that they're both massive timesinks, but other than that, idk. Using just one is fine, too.

Actually, my biggest issue with tumblr is that there seems to be an anti-text post mentality? I don't get why, because I love text posts, lol. ... almost everything on LJ is technically the equivalent of a text post either way, so if anything seeing people who talk about ~quality blogs~ not having text posts is sort of sad. ;A;

On the flipside, the tumblr FE fandom has been really nice in my experience, and I haven't seen any wank at all, which is a little surprising! Maybe I just don't know where to look for the drama, though, or something. I don't really know. Either way, it seems like they're mostly cool with people having different opinions which is a rarity on the internet! Man I don't know why I'm ranting about tumblr on LJ, though, shouldn't it be the other way around? Or maybe it's because this is like my internet diary or something

Oh, and also I think it'd be nice if LJ had a like button! I tend to be too scared to comment on fics and such with a simple "hi this is awesome" comment because I've read too much about authors complaining that they hate getting short reviews or something, so um
yeah I'd just like it if there was a like button (Pun not intended. I think.)

2) I finished Shadow Dragon several weeks ago, but I haven't really talked about it so I guess now is the time to do that? It's definitely good gameplay-wise (much more tolerable than FE4's massive maps, that's for sure). There really isn't much of a story - even less than I expected there to be, in fact - which is a shame. Several of your units pretty much feel like generics, given that they don't even have recruitment dialogue.

I quite like Marth as a lord, though; his development in the prologue was interesting to me, and not really something you see in your average FE lord, so I appreciated that. He got so little dialogue he almost seemed to take on the role of a mute hero afterwards, his conversations with Nyna excepted since he actually gets to speak in those. The romance with Sheeda is actually sort of surprising, since they only actually have one real scene together... but either way, I liked said scene, and I'm honestly starting to think I have a thing for dominant women in het pairings. :'D

Re: Marth/Nyna, I'm not much for the ship (though I do find Nyna gorgeous, design-wise!), because their relationship seemed strictly businesslike to me? Idk, it feels similar to Roy/Guinevere, and I didn't really understand that either. I guess it's just not my thing. ... but I'm still amused by how the main heroes in FE games never actually end up with the princesses whose kingdoms they're trying to save, lol

Also on a mostly unimportant note, I think Merric is adorable and if I were to ship any pairing with Marth that wasn't Marth/Sheeda, it'd probably be Marth/Merric

3) I feel like I've talked enough about Ghost Trick on tumblr already (albeit in private messages, so it might not even count), but can I just say that I think it's a lovely game? ♥ I don't know if this is bad or not but I think I'm starting to like it more than the Ace Attorney series. I guess the small fandom makes things less scary to me, too.

I'm rather shocked by the lack of subtext in Ghost Trick, though, considering it's made by the same people who made Phoenix Wright and all. The only pairing that comes to mind for it is Bailey/his grumpy NPC cop buddy with no given name, which had the most obvious subtext ever, clearly (I mean I can't be the only one who noticed that, can I). It seems like Jeego/Tengo is sort of popular, from poking around the fandom, but that's technically a crack pairing so I'm not sure what to make of it? Um. It strikes me as a pretty friendship-oriented fandom, really. I'm ok with that.

(the next time I post here I think I'm just going to do a fan art dump, even though I don't really draw much, since lumping art together with ranty posts tends to look super messy)

Date: 2011-08-16 10:21 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] crimsonmorgan.livejournal.com
Tumblr and lj are far too different to really compare them, imo. Somehow this reminds me of the Nintendo vs Sony "wars" back in the day (~90s, my childhood :'D); you really could only have one >8D I was and still am a Nintendo fangirl (even though I do have a PS2 now).

/can so sympathise on the "too shy to actually friend people" front

The lack of story is why I could never finish Shadow Dragon. Gameplay alone can't keep me.

Date: 2011-08-17 02:27 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] professor-tammi.livejournal.com
I wouldn't really say they're that different, since they're both blogging platforms at all, but... huh. The comparison to console wars is pretty appropriate! :'D (I'm a Nintendo fangirl myself, and yeah, the only non-Nintendo console I own is a PS2.)

The gameplay in Shadow Dragon was fun enough for me to finish the game, at least, so I won't complain there~

Date: 2011-08-17 02:31 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] crimsonmorgan.livejournal.com
*Nintendo brofist* 8D

Date: 2011-08-16 11:19 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] hooves.livejournal.com
Tumblr confuses me! LOL

That said, I wish we had a like button here, too. That'd be awesome. Sometimes I don't have anything more to say than :D.

I'm not scared to comment on 'fics or anything, and I enjoy commenting on them. But some personal entries it's like. What do, self?

Date: 2011-08-17 02:30 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] professor-tammi.livejournal.com
Haha, I know that tumblr confuses a lot of people, so at least you're not alone. orz

I can sympathize with that! I'm kind of awkward when it comes to commenting on some personal posts, so a simple like button would help, I think.

sorry for being rambly OTL

Date: 2011-08-17 08:07 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] iridescentice.livejournal.com
We talk enough on tumblr, but I just thought I'd add my two cents and get used to commenting on lj again, because it's been screwing up, so I'm out of practice in regards to anxiety. ;v; which is probably why I like tumblr more, but tumblr is faster in terms of interaction, at least in my experience, so it's helped me gain confidence? But that's just me.

Anyway, I wasn't aware of the tumblr vs. lj feud, but tumblr is much less exclusive than lj because, well, f-locked journals are incredibly off-putting for me, tbh, for both anxiety reasons, and for ":/ so how is FE fandom not clique-like again?" reasons. I haven't seen much of an anti-text post mentality, either, but lj seems more like a place for tl;dr, while tumblr is for all types of text posts -- at least with FE and Glee fandom, tumblr seems to be fine with meta posts? It actually seems to be encouraged to write meta there, at least for ships, while on lj, I have no idea whether it's encouraged. (Also, a Like button would be totally awesome, ngl.)

I can't really say anything about Shadow Dragon or Ghost Trick, but lol I kind of have a thing for dominant women in het pairings as well, so I can sympathize with that. :'D is it bad that I thought Ghost Trick was a show, or

Re: sorry for being rambly OTL

Date: 2011-08-17 02:39 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] professor-tammi.livejournal.com
I'm kind of wondering if the dashboard notifications being real-time is part of what makes tumblr faster than LJ when it comes to interacting? Idk, I could be completely off, but it's easier to tell when something's happening that way.

I've seen tumblr vs LJ debates in several places on LJ - mostly fandom!secrets, but then again FS kind of wanks about everything ever, so I shouldn't be too surprised. A-and yeah, flocks make me feel rather nervous, too.

Some people on tumblr talk about deleting their text posts so that their blog can be more of a "quality photo blog", I think. I don't get why people would like photo blogs more than other kinds of tumblogs, honestly, so it just strikes me as sort of silly. Also, it's ok, you're not rambly! :D

Re: sorry for being rambly OTL

Date: 2011-08-18 12:24 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] iridescentice.livejournal.com
That's probably the case, actually -- tumblr seems more casual to me in that way. :'D sometimes, it almost goes too fast for me to keep up, but that's better than having to wait a day or so for things to start happening. (Also, timezones tend to hinder both, or so I've noticed -- barely anyone I talk to lives in the same timezone as I do. aaarggghhh timezones)

Ah, that explains it. I barely pay attention to anything outside of my f-list anymore, so that's probably why I didn't know about it.

I keep seeing that as well, but aside from that, I don't really see people being all ">:( your text posts are terrible! Delete them and become a photo blog!" -- it seems more of a self-imposed attitude than anything. ;v; it's nice to know I'm not being really rambly, though.

Profile

professor_tammi: (Default)
professor_tammi

December 2011

S M T W T F S
    12 3
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526 2728293031

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 07:46 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios