This post doesn't even make any sense
May. 5th, 2011 10:47 pmThat title is probably going to fit pretty well, actually. This is going to be a very messy and disorganized post. I think.
So, I was lurking fandom!secrets like always (I guess I just love drama trainwrecks or something), and suddenly, a post with two FE fandom secrets! Woah. I mean, I've always hoped it would happen, but I kind of... didn't think it would be so soon? Or at all. But both of the secrets were very cute, really. ♥ and i did leave an anon comment too I mean, aside from that one anon trying to start some wank, but it seemed painfully obvious to me he/she/it wasn't familiar with the fandom at all, so.
But on the other hand, both secrets sort of brought up the problem of breaking into the fandom - the LJ part of it, at least - and I agree that it's quite hard. I think the fact that most of the fandom already seems so tight-knit sort of scares people off from actually commenting, so instead, some of the new fans just end up lurking and just... idolizing the more famous writers. I don't think it's the kind of "problem" that needs to be solved, because honestly, a small but close fandom isn't a bad thing at all. But I do sort of wish the new fans could perhaps band together, even if it were just for them to have somebody to talk to? Idk. I've actually only lurked for a few years in the FE fandom, but I know that it feels really nice to have a person you can speak to about your geekier interests. Having a lot of pent up opinions doesn't really make one feel all that good.
Then again, I think just writing something about it helps, too. So I tend to do that. Usually. In an unnecessarily tl;dr fashion, of course.
Edit: actually, it seems like the main problems the two anons had was actually commenting on the fics, but... hm. I guess I should just wish them both good luck, in that case. I have the same problem, to be honest, so I can relate to that too.
Also, yay, emblanon suddenly exploded with comments! And an anon touched upon an interesting topic: that a lot the newer fans might just not want to post their thoughts on the games, because it has all been done before, and people (apparently) don't want to read about headcanon that's already been run into the ground.
So, uh... I, for one, love reading people's FE headcanons or theories or pretty much anything - even if it does happen to be repetitive (though if I have to be perfectly honest, I've found that it's usually not) or on a subject that's already been debated back and forth a few hundred times before. So if someone were to post something about it, I'd love to read it. And the added bonus is that bringing up older discussions could potentially let the newer fans say something about it, too - perhaps they'd have an entirely different take on it from the older fans? It's possible. In fact, I don't think it's all that rare.
Speaking personally, though, I rarely stop enjoying things. There's almost never too much of a good thing for me; so that might be why I'm disagreeing. As for my own posts, I'm obviously beating dead horses a lot of the time. But since I never had the chance to join the discussions when they were new, well, I'm just going to write down my opinions now, even if it makes me seem like I'm behind the times(ok actually I kind of am). I've already mentioned this, but not sharing your thoughts with anybody isn't really helping. So in a sense, I suppose I'm writing for myself, although I'm always glad to hear others' opinions on my posts (because who wouldn't?). Actually, that's... kind of the point of keeping a journal, I think.
Also, I think I might have accidentally posted an un-anon comment to emblanon because I keep forgetting to anon and for some reason the comment was screened
Oh well. It wasn't exactly something I needed to anon for, but still.
And, uh.. is it just me, or is FE really really easy/fun to randomly crossover with everything? I mean, I've seen it get crossed over with Pokémon and Persona and Tales of and Glee and itself and
well
almost everything
I think the fact that an FE/Twilight crossover would make a lot of sense scares me more than anything else, really.
(And am I the only person who noticed that, clearly, Volug = Jacob
They're both shirtless werewolves. Can't be a coincidence.)
Actually I sort of want to see that crossover now. Ike is Bella, because the idea amuses me to no end. Half the girls at school fall in love with him but instead of whining about it like Bella does he doesn't even notice. The branded are vampires (Soren = Edward and Micaiah is Alice because they both ~see the future~ or something) and lol what am I even thinking about
Huh, I never thought reading Twilight would actually be useful for something. Or maybe not. I think I have the wrong definition of useful.
So, I was lurking fandom!secrets like always (I guess I just love drama trainwrecks or something), and suddenly, a post with two FE fandom secrets! Woah. I mean, I've always hoped it would happen, but I kind of... didn't think it would be so soon? Or at all. But both of the secrets were very cute, really. ♥ and i did leave an anon comment too I mean, aside from that one anon trying to start some wank, but it seemed painfully obvious to me he/she/it wasn't familiar with the fandom at all, so.
But on the other hand, both secrets sort of brought up the problem of breaking into the fandom - the LJ part of it, at least - and I agree that it's quite hard. I think the fact that most of the fandom already seems so tight-knit sort of scares people off from actually commenting, so instead, some of the new fans just end up lurking and just... idolizing the more famous writers. I don't think it's the kind of "problem" that needs to be solved, because honestly, a small but close fandom isn't a bad thing at all. But I do sort of wish the new fans could perhaps band together, even if it were just for them to have somebody to talk to? Idk. I've actually only lurked for a few years in the FE fandom, but I know that it feels really nice to have a person you can speak to about your geekier interests. Having a lot of pent up opinions doesn't really make one feel all that good.
Then again, I think just writing something about it helps, too. So I tend to do that. Usually. In an unnecessarily tl;dr fashion, of course.
Edit: actually, it seems like the main problems the two anons had was actually commenting on the fics, but... hm. I guess I should just wish them both good luck, in that case. I have the same problem, to be honest, so I can relate to that too.
Also, yay, emblanon suddenly exploded with comments! And an anon touched upon an interesting topic: that a lot the newer fans might just not want to post their thoughts on the games, because it has all been done before, and people (apparently) don't want to read about headcanon that's already been run into the ground.
So, uh... I, for one, love reading people's FE headcanons or theories or pretty much anything - even if it does happen to be repetitive (though if I have to be perfectly honest, I've found that it's usually not) or on a subject that's already been debated back and forth a few hundred times before. So if someone were to post something about it, I'd love to read it. And the added bonus is that bringing up older discussions could potentially let the newer fans say something about it, too - perhaps they'd have an entirely different take on it from the older fans? It's possible. In fact, I don't think it's all that rare.
Speaking personally, though, I rarely stop enjoying things. There's almost never too much of a good thing for me; so that might be why I'm disagreeing. As for my own posts, I'm obviously beating dead horses a lot of the time. But since I never had the chance to join the discussions when they were new, well, I'm just going to write down my opinions now, even if it makes me seem like I'm behind the times
Also, I think I might have accidentally posted an un-anon comment to emblanon because I keep forgetting to anon and for some reason the comment was screened
Oh well. It wasn't exactly something I needed to anon for, but still.
And, uh.. is it just me, or is FE really really easy/fun to randomly crossover with everything? I mean, I've seen it get crossed over with Pokémon and Persona and Tales of and Glee and itself and
well
almost everything
I think the fact that an FE/Twilight crossover would make a lot of sense scares me more than anything else, really.
(And am I the only person who noticed that, clearly, Volug = Jacob
They're both shirtless werewolves. Can't be a coincidence.)
Actually I sort of want to see that crossover now. Ike is Bella, because the idea amuses me to no end. Half the girls at school fall in love with him but instead of whining about it like Bella does he doesn't even notice. The branded are vampires (Soren = Edward and Micaiah is Alice because they both ~see the future~ or something) and lol what am I even thinking about
Huh, I never thought reading Twilight would actually be useful for something. Or maybe not. I think I have the wrong definition of useful.
no subject
Date: 2011-09-06 03:55 am (UTC)That being said, I just wanted to agree with your perception of how new fans feel about the FE fandom. I played PoR in January, so I am new in a fandom where most people have been around for years, so the feeling everything has been discussed already is something I’ve felt. I mean, who would want to hear the same thing over again? As well, I’m a teenager who’s only played FE 9 and 10 and ships Ike/Soren so that may contribute to the feeling of being written off as an annoying fangirl right away. And about idolizing famous authors… damn, guilty as charged.
no subject
Date: 2011-09-06 07:53 pm (UTC)It's actually really nice to hear there are still people who want to get into FE, because the games could probably use more fans! I guess I felt exactly like that when I was new to the fandom, too (I still feel pretty new to it, especially considering I only delurked a few months ago). I still can't stop idolizing the amazing authors in this fandom - it feels as if half of the FE fans I see on Livejournal are some kind of literary geniuses, haha.
I ship Ike/Soren as well, and to be honest, I was rather reluctant to mention the pairing at all at first because I was afraid of the same thing as you, ie getting written off as "just another annoying yaoi fangirl" - but the people I've actually talked to have been very nice, and I've never had anybody bash me for the pairings I like.
Same Anon
Date: 2011-09-08 05:36 am (UTC)Well, I knew about FE, but hadn’t played any of the games until this year, so I’m very late to the party. But others also do the same thing in any fandom, because sometimes you don’t know about something when it is originally released.
It’s funny because everyone complains about the bad fanfic (and there is a lot) but there is also plenty of really good writing too. Any recs?
Mostly everyone seems to be pretty cool about pairings and the like, but then you hear about these pretty intense shipping wars, and it’s like ??? And some of the comments seem to make fairly board generalizations about people who like such and such a pairing.
Still, I really like this fandom. There is so much discussions and meta. Just wish I’d been here earlier!
Re: Same Anon
Date: 2011-09-08 05:24 pm (UTC)Yeah, I know what you mean re: the shipping wars. I've read several - mostly for amusement, I'll admit - though I've never been involved in one myself. Hmm, those kinds of broad generalizations in general really bother me... mostly because, to be frank, they're mostly baseless and often inaccurate.
Honestly, I think it'd be nice if you joined the fandom now, if you want to! Don't let the fact that it's a bit old stop you. :D I feel sort of "late to the party" as well, but it looks like there are plenty of things left to discuss.
Re: Same Anon
Date: 2011-09-09 05:37 am (UTC)Baseless and inaccurate sums it up well. Just because you ship or don’t ship something doesn’t mean you are “that” sort of person. They can be kind of amusing, yeah. Especially when you think of it from someone outside of fandoms’ perspective. I tried to explain it to a friend once; they didn’t get the point of discussing in detail fictional characters’ love lives. (but it’s so much fun!!!)
Hmm, really? I’ve thought of it, but I don’t really have any thing to offer in the way of fanart and fanfic. Mostly I’ve been just reviewing (which really means fangirly, capslocksmashing incoherency) measuringlife’s fics, who’s been very nice about it. But maybe… I’d have to get an lj account.
Re: Same Anon
Date: 2011-09-10 11:42 pm (UTC)As for fics, hmm... I'm a little unsure about reccing Ike/Soren fics because I don't really know which fics you've actually read, so I'm worried I'd just end up reccing stuff you already know about, haha. But let's see - have you read Uncharted Fates (http://www.fanfiction.net/s/6845690/1/Uncharted_Fates)? It's actually an FE6/7 and FE9/10 crossover fic, so the focus isn't really on Ike/Soren, though the pairing is still present and they both play very important roles. (Oh, if you'd like me to write out a full rec list, just tell me! I, um, should hopefully be able to do that.)
You don't really need to be able to write or draw to participate in fandom, imo. Just talking to other fans is fine! People tend to be really happy to get comments, or well, at least I am. I don't really see any harm in getting an LJ account! :) (... and capslocksmashes are probably the best kind of compliment you could get~)
Re: Same Anon
Date: 2011-09-11 01:47 am (UTC)Okay, thanks! I definitely haven’t read this one. New fic!!! I don’t know much about FE 6/7 (I need to play more of the games), so off I go to the Fire Emblem Wiki! Don’t feel you have to write a full rec list or anything if you don’t want to. I don’t want to bother you!
Well, if I did, would it be okay for me to still comment on your posts? Just for someone to talk to in the fandom and stuff (feels like a stalker). Capslocksmashes are so typically fangirly and yet so much fun.
Re: Same Anon
Date: 2011-09-11 09:37 pm (UTC)The FE6/7 characters play a pretty large role, so it's probably for the best if you familiarize yourself with them~ As for a fic rec list - I requested that a friend write one not too long ago, and I never actually got the chance to use her recs (which I feel kind of bad about, but ;A;) - so if you'd like a list, it's no trouble at all! Just say so. :D
Of course it'd be fine if we continued talking! It's probably a lot easier to comment with an LJ account, too.
Re: Same Anon
Date: 2011-09-13 02:29 am (UTC)If you don't mind, I'd like that! :) Thanks!
I decided to go get an LJ account and de-lurk a little bit, before I managed to talk myself out of it! It's kind of scary!
Re: Same Anon
Date: 2011-09-13 08:34 pm (UTC)Before Leaving (http://www.fanfiction.net/s/4699131/1/) - "After the wars, Stefan pays a return visit to the Greil mercenaries to see if Soren may be persuaded to reconsider his invitation. Ike may not know what this is really about, but he's the crux of the issue, so he'll have to figure something out."
Don't Break my World (http://www.fanfiction.net/s/5018629/1/) - "You can't hear what you don't want to listen to. Stefan realises this applies to nobody more than Soren. He just wants to save a friend from pain, but for once, the strategist won't listen to reason. Implied Ike/Soren. Onesided Stefan/Soren if you squint."
Since Then (http://www.fanfiction.net/s/2788930/1/) - "After Soren's confession, Ike reflects upon what's changed since they were children together. IkexSoren."
Maps Won't Show Us Where We're Going (http://www.fanfiction.net/s/6276972/1/) - "After the final battle, Ike stumbles over a realization or two. Fire Emblem 10, Ike/Soren."
Recs for specific authors:
R_Amythest (http://www.fanfiction.net/u/275526/R_Amythest)
WET_NOODLES (http://www.fanfiction.net/u/2472895/WET_NOODLES) (I've already linked Uncharted Fates, but. orz)
Arctic Husky (http://www.fanfiction.net/u/415964/Arctic_Husky)
Asidian (http://www.fanfiction.net/u/87683/Asidian) - again, I've already linked one fic by the author, haha.
I know there was a rec post over at emblanon, but I can't seem to find it anymore - um, still, hopefully this list has at least something you haven't read yet. :)
Delurking on LJ is definitely scary, but I think it's worth it! Most of the people here are quite nice, really.
Not Anon Anymore
Date: 2011-09-14 05:01 am (UTC)(starts going through the recs)
Ooh, several of these are new and while I’ve read some of tattedmariposa’s fics over on the old kink meme, I didn’t know whose they were. NC-17 is okay, but I’ll admit fluff is my favourite. Wait what, a Twilight parody? This I have to read. :)
I’m glad, and thanks for your support! Ah, that sounds dorky, but when you don’t know anyone in a fandom… But you’re right, everyone does seem really nice. :)
Re: Not Anon Anymore
Date: 2011-09-14 05:00 pm (UTC)Aww, that doesn't really seem dorky to me. I'm pretty sure it took me several weeks (or months?) to actually start talking to people on LJ, but everything worked out fine in the end - in spite of how nervous I'd been about it. There's really nothing to worry about. :D
Re: Not Anon Anymore
Date: 2011-09-15 03:03 am (UTC)