professor_tammi: (quinn)
[personal profile] professor_tammi
... well...
it's kind of... lol

I think "ridiculous" works too (just in case "lol" isn't a good enough adjective for describing this sort of thing).

I guess I don't really care about most of the hate. I mean, I actually enjoyed Code Geass, Fire Emblem: The Sacred Stones and Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World so obviously my taste in storytelling must be terrible (at least according to most of the internet), but. This is what bugs me:

Quinn: I'm a Christian
Mercedes: so am I
Rachel: I'm Jewish
Kurt: I hate religion (and also I'm being more of a jerk than usual atm because my dad might be dying)
Hatedom: GLEE IS SENDING THE MESSAGE THAT RELIGION IS BAD

<Karofsky bullies Kurt because he's gay himself>
Hatedom: GLEE IS SENDING THE MESSAGE THAT ALL GAY BULLIES ARE CLOSETED GAYS

Blaine: I think I could possibly maybe be bisexual
Kurt: NO you're not bi you're definitely gay you just think you're bi because you want to feel normal!!!
Blaine: sorry, that's a pretty dumb opinion. Bye.
Hatedom: GLEE IS SENDING THE MESSAGE THAT YOU CAN'T BE BISEXUAL

(seriously though, why do people keep saying Glee has no bisexuals? Doesn't Brittany count...? Or am I missing something here. I mean, she obviously loves both Artie and Santana, that seems pretty bi to me)

I just don't understand why people think obviously opinionated and flawed characters (Kurt in particular; I like him a lot but he is kind of a jerk) are supposed to be some kind of role models, I guess. Why does everything have to be a "message"? Am I being too idealistic when I expect people to realize that this is a fictional high-school romcom about singing and shouldn't be taken overly seriously? Idk but I wanted to get this off my chest.

I guess I could understand why the last one is somewhat annoying, because the subplot itself was mostly pointless and Kurt was proven "right" in the end (instead of learning something from it), but as long as it presents several views on the matter, I don't really see the need to feel offended by this.

Then again, this is fandom!secrets I'm talking about, where people get offended by My Little Pony, but still. I've seen the same arguments in several places and I am completely confounded by this hate (I can understand disliking the show for many other reasons though, I'm not trying to say it's ~perfect and shiny and awesome~).

I was going to say that I'm glad FE doesn't usually have this kind of hatewank but then I remembered seeing the comments to this video just a few days ago. Seriously just at look at these comments. The general stupidity/wank/weirdness is kind of astounding. And hilarious. (I still think that last exchange is awesome, though. I can't stop laughing at it!)

Given how prone I am to defending everything I like I should just stay away from the hate altogether. I'm sorry I keep seeing this everywhere and I just feel I have to say something about it sometimes. I just feel the need to explain why I like certain things orz

Profile

professor_tammi: (Default)
professor_tammi

December 2011

S M T W T F S
    12 3
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526 2728293031

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 11:28 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios