professor_tammi: (soren)
[personal profile] professor_tammi
1) I think part of the reason I haven't posted anything is because I feel odd about posting without having any art at all to show. I've been having a lot of trouble with drawing lately, it seems? I finish something and then just decide I don't like the picture after all. :| It's a little worrisome, because I feel I should be using this summer to draw as much as possible, and I'm failing spectacularly at it. so, tl;dr: I feel bad about the lack of art

2) I watched the entirety of the Game of Thrones adaption - and wow, it's actually really faithful to the book and quite good in general! My main complaint is probably that some of the fanservice was... rather gratuitous? I mean, it was worse than the second season of Code Geass. That's when you know there's way too much fanservice.

Overall, I thought the casting choices were good - the Targaryens, Littlefinger, Loras, Robb, Caitlyn, Jorah, Bran, Joffrey, Sansa... the list goes on and on, but they were all great, imo. On the flipside, I'm disappointed in Jon Snow's actor, not because I feel he doesn't look the part (though admittedly, I imagined him looking very different when reading the books, but still), but because he just can't act too well. I think this about sums it up. I'm sure he'd be a fine actor if it weren't for the fact that his expression was all :O the entire time, though. (... lol Jon was one of my favorites in the books, so please excuse the rant.)

Oh, and speaking of actors, can I just add that Bran and Arya are absolutely adorable? ;A; I don't really mind the fact that Arya looks quite different from what George R R Martin probably intended, given that she was constantly described as "horse-faced" in the books while in the show, she's... not. At all. She's just incredibly cute. And I think I'm kind of shocked that all the children acted so well, too. That really impressed me.

It's kind of fun to watch this knowing exactly what will happen beforehand, though. When Joffrey made his "I'll never hurt you again!!!" speech to Sansa I actually laughed out loud, because
well
sure you won't, Joffrey
And I'm sure this makes me kind of terrible, but... I wasn't really affected by Ned's death? At all. His obsession with being honorable feels so out of place in Westeros, too. Mercy isn't going to get you too far, unfortunately.

Also, the show is making me feel a little silly because the Renly/Loras subtext flew completely over my head when I read the books. But then again, I think that's the case with most subtext in books in general. Still... when I got to the part with the rainbow armor I basically just went "oh, that's an odd color for armor isn't it? I sure wonder why it's rainbow-colored". Oops, I am slow
I have to admit that Renly and Loras were very cute in the adaption, though! I think I sort of ship it, a little bit. And Dany/her handmaiden. I-I don't even remember if she has a proper name, but it's crack either way, sooo

By the way, since I am obsessed with comparing everything to FE, I made this. Feel free to judge me.

3) Um, the thing on the anon meme about elitism... I'm not sure what even happened there, to be honest? When I hear the word "elitism", I think of serious competitive Pokémon players who feel the need to force people to not use certain pokémon because their stats are bad (oh, this sure sounds familiar, doesn't it. I wonder what other Nintendo RPG has this problem)

Obviously that doesn't apply here. Though it does remind me of one other thing I've been meaning to rant about, sort of: I don't really like it when people claim fluffy and/or shippy fan fics don't have any artistic merit. I think they do. People will generally define "art" as anything meant to evoke some kind of emotion in you, but honestly, the more common way people approach things involves only classifying something as art if it's a) beautiful, or b) angsty. But personally, I'll often seek out fics that make me happy (be it through romance or comedy or something entirely different), and I don't think that makes them ~worth less~ than other kinds of fiction at all. I know this is a really bizarre tangent, but... yeah.

Edit: oh, and apparently today is supposed to be international kissing day? I guess I'll celebrate by reading fan fiction ♥

Date: 2011-07-07 12:14 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] hooves.livejournal.com
Your #3 was very well-said. <3 I agree 110%!

Date: 2011-07-07 02:55 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] measuringlife.livejournal.com
/avoids ASOIAF spoilers, because she's still reading it.

FE fandom is pretty bad about it, actually. I've been in a lot other fandoms and there's nowhere near the sort of snobbery against ship fic. FE fandom just has a lot of pedantic people per capita, I guess.

well, that's a good excuse for me to write something fluffy and full of makeouts. You should make a kissing doodle for the day! :D

Date: 2011-07-07 04:18 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] professor-tammi.livejournal.com
Now that you mention it, I haven't seen anything like it in other fandoms. That's rather curious. FE lends itself really well to shippy fic, since there's subtext all over the place and well, it's kind of a gameplay mechanic, too... so the backlash against it strikes me as very odd.

:D More fic is always a good thing! (I would doodle something, if I actually knew how to doodle, which... I don't. this is why i shouldn't be an artist I'll just draw something shippy instead, I think.)

Date: 2011-07-07 08:30 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] measuringlife.livejournal.com


Incidentally, FE also has the highest concentration of grammar nazi-ism in any of the fandoms I've been in. I'd guess that it means strategy game = intelligent, but very critical fans. (Though heavens, FFN crowd wouldn't give you that idea!) It's also possible that they stick out more simply because FE is mid-sized so even if it's a minority, they come out less as a crazy fringe group than a very vocal sector of the group /shrugs.

I like your drawings, thou~ I ended up writing some Hetalia fic for a friend :D

Date: 2011-07-08 02:17 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] professor-tammi.livejournal.com
I think I might have some "grammar nazi" tendencies myself, at times, but mostly when it comes to Swedish - usually I just don't point anything out (unless somebody specifically asks for it). Ah, but what you've said about FE games requiring intelligence is true! In my experience, a lot of video game fans on the Internet seem to be pretty concerned with having proper grammar, though.

U-um, thank you! I know very little of Hetalia (I watched a few episodes of the anime a while back, so I understand the basic premise), but any kind of fic is nice in my book~ :D

Date: 2011-07-07 11:39 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] crimsonmorgan.livejournal.com
Hm, but isn't the GoT Joffrey pretty evil? 8D (Not that "good chara turned evil" is not a guilty pleasure of me, oh no... Oh, and I have no knowledge of the books anyway)

Date: 2011-07-07 04:22 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] professor-tammi.livejournal.com
Haha, actually, GoT!Joffrey is - to put it bluntly - not a good character turned evil at all, but simply a complete monster from the start. He and FE!Geoffrey are pretty much polar opposites. ... which is why the comparison makes no sense. xD

Date: 2011-07-07 04:30 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] crimsonmorgan.livejournal.com
Hm, I was getting at Geoffrey turning evil, since you compared them there XD (Yeah, I remember something about him being a monster. Too bad. With such a good name~)

Profile

professor_tammi: (Default)
professor_tammi

December 2011

S M T W T F S
    12 3
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526 2728293031

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 09:03 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios