professor_tammi: (Default)
[personal profile] professor_tammi
Not too sure why I’m posting in my LJ since I’m supposed to be not failing at doing my homework and such, but mostly I just felt like ranting, I guess.

1) I think I’m way too serious on the internet. This is completely wrong because I’m not really supposed to be that serious
maybe i should type this entire post in lowercase and without using commas because that makes you come across as silly. the alternative is caps lock spam but somehow i do not feel comfortable caps lock spamming
i’m bad at being a fangirl, clearly. i mean what kind of fangirl doesn’t caps lock spam ;o;

Or I could just type normally but try to actually say something instead of just writing lots of words that don’t really mean anything like I always do. It’s a curious idea. I should try it out sometime. When I learn how to, that is.

Also this is kind of another personal thing, but… do I offend people? I wish I knew. I think sometimes I do it unintentionally, but I don’t really know.

2) So, those people on DeviantART who are all “DON’T FAV WITHOUT COMMENTING OR I WILL FIND YOUR HOUSE AND BURN IT DOWN D:”
… why would you even say that, lol. I can’t even begin to comprehend actually getting angry at people for liking your art. I guess there’s not that much of a point in bringing it up since this is pretty much exactly the same as the tired old “I don’t like people who write short comments on my fan fics” debate, but I saw it recently and wanted to mention in anyway. (Also now I have another excuse to use my “forever behind the times” tag which is nice)

Speaking of dA, though, some of the netiquette is kind of confusing in general. Should you thank people for +faving art? I don’t, because that’d make me feel way too spammy. Should you thank people for commenting (when all you have to say is a plain, simple “thank you” and nothing more)? This one is more complicated; I do it sometimes, because I feel it’s nice to know that the artist actually reads your comments. At other times, I don’t. It’s rather random. Thanking people for watches is kind of a given for me, though.

3) Crossposting art – I wonder if it's a good idea? I’ve been considering posting art on my LJ or tumblr, but I’m a little unsure on the matter for some reason. Perhaps there’d be more variety if I kept my WIPs on LJ and posted finished stuff on dA, but the problem is that my sketches are incredibly ugly and I pretty much always finish what I start anyway. (Wait, that’s not much of a problem. It’s actually really awesome. I am totally ok with this.)

4) E3 and tumblrspams have made me think about Zelda (because really, how could you not?), and I concluded that I only really like Capcom Zeldas. That’s… probably pretty weird, isn’t it? But I know I loved The Minish Cap, at least. Still, my favorite aspects of Zelda games are the sidequests and travel portions – dungeons and puzzles, I could definitely do without. Might be part of the reason I couldn’t stand Spirit Tracks, because they somehow managed to make the travel portion one of the most frustrating parts of the game. (Or maybe I’m just angry about the game because I got stuck at one of those caves where a giant spider chases after you. It keeps killing me and now I can’t beat it. :<)

Oh, and sort of a random tangent, but I really think Zelda’s Skyward Sword design is really interesting. She’s more cute than regal this time around, which I like because there’s… a certain sense of familiarity to her. Her concept art is very sweet-looking; in-game Zelda is disappointing, though. Her nose is too low and her eyes and mouth are too large, so she just looks… off. (I guess it’s still not as bad as the Radiant Dawn portraits, though. Aaah they’re a waste of the beautiful official art
welp now I’m just whining again, I should probably stop that)

... I've considered "redrawing" the FE:RD portraits, though I don't feel I'm anywhere skilled enough as an artist and I wouldn't know how to do them in the same style. Still, it could be a potentially interesting project sometime in the future when I'm done with the FE 100 themes thing and hopefully I'll be a halfway decent artist by then lol self like that'll ever happen

Date: 2011-06-11 08:46 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kiu22.livejournal.com
I don't think you offend people or sounds too serious, you are very nice, polite and open-minded so I don't see how anyone could be offended ^^

“DON’T FAV WITHOUT COMMENTING OR I WILL FIND YOUR HOUSE AND BURN IT DOWN D:”
Will never understand this either, sure, it's nice to get comments along with favourites, but getting angry over people liking your art? that's arrogance. There are even people on DA who would like to disable favourites so people are forced to comment if they like something. O__o'

As for crossposting art, I think you should. I crosspost a lot and ofter feel bad because it XD But in the end, it's a way to share your works so that more people can see and like them. Not everyone habitually login in more than one site, but I guess everyone is happy to see more art of their favourite chatacters or just nice art in general?
(I so envy your perseverance, I have like..4954945949 sketches that will probably never get finished ;__;)

Date: 2011-06-11 09:49 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] professor-tammi.livejournal.com
Sometimes I think I'm too polite, but if people don't find it creepy or annoying, then... I guess it's okay? :D (But I'm worried I come across as dishonest... eh, idk.)

Disabling favorites? That idea annoys me because, honestly, I really enjoy collecting favs - they're purely positive feedback and completely harmless either way, and I don't see the point in disabling them. Faving things can be a bit like fan art hunting, I think, which I love doing. But... then again, I've seen some pretty crazy things on deviantART. This isn't too surprising, considering. (Mostly I'm just morbidly curious and seek them out myself, so that might be my own fault. xD)

Mm, I could try crossposting my art to LJ the next time I draw something~! It seems like a lot of LJ-people don't really check dA that often, so hopefully it won't seem to repetetive? And if I crosspost I won't have to worry quite as much about running out of things to post here, too orz

Profile

professor_tammi: (Default)
professor_tammi

December 2011

S M T W T F S
    12 3
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526 2728293031

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 04:52 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios