professor_tammi: (louise)
[personal profile] professor_tammi
1) I was thinking of buying some new DS games. 999 was on my wishlist, buuut then I found out the game hasn't been released in Europe (I wish I knew why this kept happening ;_;) and ended up getting Ghost Trick instead. Which should hopefully be a good game! I mean, if it's from the same person who made Ace Attorney, then it has to be awesome, right

I also tried to find a copy of Shadow Dragon, but to no avail. It's no wonder this fandom is so small when the games are so hard to find anywhere. Though I'm not too sure I'd enjoy Shadow Dragon that much, but I'd feel bad if I didn't at least add it to my collection. Why am I even collecting games?

Also, while attempting to google for some place to get FE11, I came across a Swedish FE forum. Which in itself is already pretty shocking. Unsurprisingly it consisted mostly of stat debates and such, but in addition to that, there was a rather random thread about which political party Hector would vote for if he were Swedish
I bet he'd vote for the Pirate Party! Because everyone loves pirates, including me
(... well, except for Lyn, I guess)

2) Seriously, no more ranting after this! Hopefully.

It's been a while since I actually finished the series, but: the entirety of the third season is pretty much amazing. The scene with Zuko and Iroh at the end was just. ;__; Also, just... Zuko in general. I'm surprised I like him so much. I guess I just like angsty princes with crazy fathers and weird marks on their heads (wow I can't watch anything without somehow making a comparison to FE, can I?)

Though, to be honest, I love all of the Fire Nation characters. They're amazing. And Azula is just plain fascinating as a villain; she manages to feel very human in spite of not having a trademark ~sad tragic past~, and yet she's still terrifying. After seeing how she broke down after Mai and Ty Lee's betrayal... I felt genuinely bad for her even though she really doesn't have any classic "redeeming traits". Yeah. One of the best villains in any shows I've ever seen, I think.

(Is it odd if I absolutely adored the beach episode? I mean, it's probably because yay character development for the fire trio and Zuko! but still. Considering that is was a beach episode, I'm surprised it wasn't more fanservice-y. But that's fine. It's still my favorite)

I started poking around the fandom a little bit, though I have to admit the size of it is seriously intimidating. I couldn't find any of those fabled Zutara-Kataang ship wars, though! I was kind of curious about why people got so worked up about them, but then I realized that... I don't really care too much about who Katara ends up with. I mean, if I had to ship her with someone, it'd probably be Toph. So. (I think I'm going to keep sort-of crackshipping Suki/Toph too, because for some reason I really like the idea of it. Even though they barely interacted. But is it just me, or does this fandom have tons of crackshippers either way...?)

Oh, and Tyzula. Just. asdldktftj, I love this ship and its unusual Genki Girl/Perfectionist Villain whoa this isn't from TVTropes dynamic and I'm kind of overjoyed it has such a large fan following because I wasn't expecting that! It even has its own capslock comm. That is kind of amazing.

Since I'm talking about ships either way: I also think Zuko/Mai is really adorable! At first I was a little unsure about how they'd work out, since I was worried that Mai's apathetic personality wouldn't go too well with Zuko's sort of stoic character, but they have far more aspects to their personalities than that; Mai actually shows plenty of emotion around Zuko, and Zuko is kind of, well. A complete dork? Really, he is. I even enjoyed their bickering, which is pretty shocking since that kind of thing normally displeases me. But still they're just really cute ok

3) ... so I was looking out my window a few hours ago, and suddenly I saw a sort of blue-orange-ish thing with a tail trailing after it fall down.
was it comet? I seriously wish I knew what it was, because it's really bugging me. what if it was a falling star
(maybe I should just make a wish!)

Oh, and in order to somewhat offset the blandness of this post, have an adorable gif of a dog (which is totally different from an adorable gif of a cat)!:

(I'm sorry, I just had to share it with someone)

Date: 2011-06-28 12:35 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] hooves.livejournal.com
Yeah, I can't say I prefer Katara with...anyone. TBH, they're all little kids to me, so I found I honestly didn't care.

Iroh was still the best in the eeeeeeeeeend. But yeah, Zuko. Heehee. I don't like how so many think he's ~so hot. In reality he wouldn't be, because that scar would be REALLY BAD. Trust me, I know. I went to school with a kid who was burned badly in a fire and it was not pretty. As in, it was REALLY HARD TO LOOK AT.

Not that Zuko doesn't have attractiveness going for him, because he does. But that scar isn't attractive. No, really. -_- Fandom. PFF.

I didn't really like many of the pairings in the series. Probably because they were all kids. Zuko/Mei(Mai? whatever) didn't really impress me either, buuuut I thought it was creepy the way they practically did a 180 personality wise. o_o

That said, man!Toph was the best thing ever. And Sokka was cute. :3

Date: 2011-06-28 03:08 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] professor-tammi.livejournal.com
Huh, I haven't seen anybody who finds Zuko's scar hot! Yet. Although, if they think that, then I guess I wouldn't mind too much? Not that I've seen anybody with that kind of scar in real life, though. Regardless of the scar, I think Zuko is more cute than anything else because he's a total dork, but I might have an... odd definition of cute, so. :D

Mm, I'm fine with shipping the characters who are in the 15-16-ish range, but even then, the younger characters (like Aang and Toph) seem really mature for their age. And the series has an awful lot of shipteasing, too. So I can't say I'm surprised there are so many pairing-crazy fans.

W-wait, did they do a 180? I think Zuko had an awful lot of believable character development, and as for Mai... I figured she only really opens up around Zuko, and even then she's still apathetic quite a bit of the time. Or maybe I misunderstood what you meant! orz (I still find them a kind of adorable ship. Their banter was terribly amusing.)

Man!Toph was so awesome. Even the real Toph loved him. My name is Toph. It rhymes with TOUGH.

Date: 2011-06-28 05:32 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kyusil.livejournal.com
I usually check stores for FE games just out of habit, and I haven't seen a single one in months. Very strange. I mean, I guess it's a good sign that they're so hard to find, because it means people are buying them new and not reselling them.

Date: 2011-06-28 08:17 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] crimsonmorgan.livejournal.com
Fffffffff, that's a new type of politics in fandom XD (There's a Swedish forum? Where? 8D)

Date: 2011-06-28 03:59 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] professor-tammi.livejournal.com
It's here (http://fireemblem.egetforum.se/)! :D But it's... well. Not overly interesting.

(Although I was a little confused by one of the members spelling "Naesala" and "Soren" as "Näsala" and "Sören". It just sounds wrong ;o;)

Date: 2011-06-28 04:09 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] crimsonmorgan.livejournal.com
Cool 8D

Honestly, when I first saw Soren´s name I was all like "Hey! There's an "ö" missing! What kind of name is ~Soren~". (My little brother had a friend named Sören when he was younger) And that, well, are the Swedes for you. They're even more extreme in their "spell as you pronounce" than Germans XD

Profile

professor_tammi: (Default)
professor_tammi

December 2011

S M T W T F S
    12 3
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526 2728293031

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 07:46 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios