professor_tammi: (brittana)
[personal profile] professor_tammi
I think I'm just going to jump straight into discussing Brittana (and the two characters themselves), because I have plenty of things to say about it.

First of all, I'm really glad that the writers have decided to develop Brittany and Santana more - they used a to be minor antagonists who barely got any screentime in the first 13 episodes of season one, so seeing what they've become now, full-fledged characters with their own storylines, is very pleasing. I'm not really used to being in a fandom where the creators actually interact with and listen to the fans, but I think I like it better this way. Many of the characters probably wouldn't have gotten as much attention, if at all, if it hadn't been for the fans - and I think Brittany and Santana are two such characters.

With that out of the way, I'd like to talk about Brittany. She's... definitely interesting; the way she manages to keep up a "cute, innocent ditz"-kind of personality while still sleeping with half of the boys at school is intriguing. In all honesty, my theory is that she's pretending to be clueless. Not necessarily "secretly a genius" (because I think I've seen that theory elsewhere as well), but more intelligent than she lets on. It makes sense for her to be acting out for some attention, in my opinion. Maybe it's because I'm guilty of something similar? I tend to act more childish than I am in order to make up for being otherwise unfunny. I don't want to come across as being serious because, well, I'm not. I'm just not very good with humor in spite of how much I love it. So, um. I believe Brittany's problem is more that she wants to have a well-defined personality in order to truly feel like a person, and so, she exaggerates it. Actually, that's not much of a problem. It's a perfectly logical thing to do.

I actually don't hate the way Brittany's relationship with Artie played out in spite of liking Brittana, because they seem like a very happy couple (and I generally like happy couples). At first I was a little surprised to see that Brittany was suddenly so committed to a single person, since before that she had been more of the stereotypical "school slut", but looking back, it does make sense. She had never had a relationship with actual feelings before then, but once she realized that "it's better with feelings", she felt ready and willing to have a real boyfriend. This sudden realization is also why Santana's way of approaching the issue felt so confusing to her, and why she finally decided to bring it up.

Santana, on the other hand, had not considered that yet - or perhaps she had, but lied to herself about her feelings for Brittany, in an attempt to convince herself that she wasn't a lesbian. Neither of these scenarios seem unlikely to me. Obviously, this was a major source of conflict for Santana, and I think it still is, so I'm very curious to see how things will proceed. If I had to guess, I'd say Santana's character development will probably deal with her falling in love with another woman (which has already happened, though it's certainly possible she may find someone other than Brittany), coming to terms with her sexuality, and then changing into a somewhat friendlier person. Assuming that what she said about her frustration arising from her being unsure of what to do with her love for Brittany, I'd say she wouldn't have to vent as much as she does right now anymore (which is what I mean when I say "friendlier", though I have no doubt she'd retain some, or a lot, of her "old" edge).

What I'd really love to see, however, would be Santana interacting with the other characters more (and I by "interact" I don't mean funny one-liners). So far, we've only really seen her be happy when together with Brittany - why not let her make some other friends? I really think Chris Colfer's idea (in this article) of a friendship between Santana and Kurt would be lovely, but I'm pretty sure I'd be happy with just about anything. At the moment, she doesn't have anyone to talk to (since she feels betrayed by Brittany), and she desperately needs someone.

Right now, I think I agree with what Brittany said to Santana about Artie - breaking up with him wouldn't be right. I'd prefer a drama-less resolution to this love triangle, though, but I can't actually think of anything short of introducing a new character to be Santana's girlfriend (or a threesome, but I doubt Santana would ever agree to that). Which... actually might not be too terrible of an idea, and I think I've seen it mentioned as a possibility (just checked - yes, apparently she might get a new love interest). I guess I could just say Santana/girls is my Glee OTP then?

Aaand... episode 16. I loved it. Almost everything in it was incredibly cute. I think I liked the revelation that, in the end, Quinn was just using Finn for her own ends - manipulative!Quinn is a Quinn I kind of like, more so than the one we've seen in the preceding episodes. And the singing! The performances! All of it was positively adorable. Or adorkable. Or both.

I think I kind of ship Klaine, because it's a little hard not to after seeing Kurt struggle so much with finding a boyfriend and seeing how happy they are now that they're together. Blaine is remarkably good at dealing with Kurt's drama queening (is this even a word I really hope it is), too, which makes sense since he doesn't get angry too easily. Hopefully they won't break up in the episode immediately after this one because this show really needs more happy couples (... I think I just jinxed it).

Also, re: the music in Glee? I still can't say I care too much for pop, but even I have to admit that some of the songs are pretty catchy. Anyway You Want It in particular. My theory is that adding na na na na nas to a song will automatically make it catchier. I'm actually fairly certain this is 100% accurate.

On an almost completely unrelated note, I've come to the conclusion that, while making long lists of your fandoms and your favorite characters in them is fun, it's just way too much effort for me. And I seem to be acting way too obsessive-compulsive when it comes to these kinds of lists in general. I always feel like I'm forgetting something. (Still, if I ever run out of ideas for things to draw [which most likely won't happen] I could probably just pick something at random from it. Which is kind of useful.)

Edit: ... I think I might need some kind of grammar-and-repetitiveness-check in addition to the spellcheck.

Profile

professor_tammi: (Default)
professor_tammi

December 2011

S M T W T F S
    12 3
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526 2728293031

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 03:19 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios