professor_tammi: (brittana)
[personal profile] professor_tammi
I actually haven't watched episode 16 yet. But I kind of already spoiled myself so I'm not too sure if that matters.

Commenting on all 15 episodes would take forever, so I think I'll just write a bit about each character like I did last time. That should probably work fairly well!

So, first off... Will Schuester. He's kind of irredeemable at this point. He's gone beyond being a cowardly person who has difficulty making good choices and just... become so much worse. Ick. Also... I can't think of a single adult woman in the show he hasn't kissed yet. Are there any? Oh yeah, Sue. I guess. Though he was pretty close to kissing even her. This probably wouldn't be as annoying if it weren't for the fact that the entire thing started in the first season, when he cheated on Emma, which she really didn't deserve. But I'm glad Emma has... kind of... started to move on (okay so the last episode I watched showed she still has some feelings for Will, but I hope she gets over that). She really seems like she'd be a lot happier with Carl than Will to me, if she's concerned about cheating at all. Which she is. And Carl is doing wonders for her character development, which is nice to see.

I'm actually thinking Sue is one of my favorite characters. Maybe even my favoritest character. I can't decide! But I really love how she can be such a great villain while still feeling very human. I was a little skeptical of the "humanizing" moments for her at first (such as her singing with the children at the hospital, which was just d'awww), I admit, but I've come to appreciate them a lot - she actually feels surprisingly three-dimensional to me. And I probably don't need to mention how awesome her one-liners are (okay I just did). Especially the hair jokes because those never get old. Ever.

Rachel's character is a bit of a roller-coaster, which is fitting given how dramatic she tends to be. I felt disappointed with her in the first episode of the season because of what she did to Sunshine (who actually seemed like she could've been an interesting addition to the glee club), but she started becoming a more and more pleasant character afterwards. Character development is a pretty cool thing! Hopefully it will hold up, but I'm unsure because Glee seems to enjoy occasionally reversing character development, which isn't exactly something I like too much. Oh, and Rachel's friendships with Mercedes and Kurt are a little unexpected but very interesting (this show should probably focus some more on friendships in general, I think, because sometimes the romantic relationship drama is a bit too much). Given that both Rachel and Kurt are rather drama queen-ish, though, I'm not that surprised that they seem to be getting along well. They can probably tell what things would anger the other and therefore know how to refrain from coming off as offensive. Maybe. I think that's how I'd interpret their friendship. But the trio still needs more scenes together.

This is actually the first time I'm posting with some knowledge of what the fandom thinks of Glee since I've been reading forums, but I have to say I was surprised to see all the hate for Finn. I'm sure the whole Fuinn thing isn't making things better, but... well, actually, I'm not very fond of that pairing myself - they really don't have any chemistry imo; Quinn has always treated him pretty coldly and they don't seem to open up around each other at all. But on the other hand, I don't think Finn and Rachel work out too well either. He just can't tolerate her drama, and she doesn't deal with Finn's bluntness too well. Maybe if they both changed, I'd be ok with it, but I can't really care for either of these ships until then. In any case, I still like Finn as a character - dorky, maybe a little dumb, and has a tendency to blurt out whatever is on his mind at the moment - so I don't really understand the hate. Most of the characters on the show have probably cheated on someone at this point. Maybe I'm desensitized to it.

Back to Finn, though. I think my favorite moment for him this season was in Furt, because it explored his brotherly friendship with Kurt (because friendships are great). Some people might say it was a rehash of the scene at the end of the Lady Gaga episode in season one, but I think I disagree. That scene was more about him accepting the fact that Kurt was gay, whereas this one is more about accepting Kurt as a part of his family. Maybe. I love both of these scenes though, probably because of the similarities and not in spite of them.

As for Kurt, I actually don't like him any less than I did in the first season, unlike certain people on forums (no, make that a lot of people). I just don't see how him getting more screentime would make him less likable, I guess? I don't understand why people are so disappointed about this. But, anyway. I quite liked the storyline with Karofsky and then Dalton, but not for any particularly "deep" reasons. I just felt it was very emotional and well done. I can't help but wonder why some people where annoyed with the portrayal of Karofsky. Why do people always assume that the show is constantly attempting to send a message to people? It isn't. Karofsky bullying Kurt because he's gay himself doesn't mean that Glee is sending its viewers a message about how gay people only get bullied by closet cases. It's just a fictional story; if you really had to, you could interpret it as a possibility in real life, not something inevitable. People seem to have overreacted a lot.

But, as I was saying... Dalton. I think the entire school itself subverts your expectations, which was interesting to see. At first, it seems like some kind of utopia, completely free from bullying or any other problems you'd come to expect. Once Kurt transfers, however, you notice that there's little room for individuality at the school - which is also most likely the reason there's so little conflict. I don't think Kurt will be able to stay there for too long. He doesn't fit in, and he needs to be able to express his individuality somehow (at McKinley, fashion was one way of doing so, or even getting the occasional solo or say in the glee club, neither of which he can do at Dalton).

And speaking of Dalton, I guess Blaine also deserves a paragraph too. He's introduced as this "flawless" prince charming, which I actually didn't mind that much because by then Kurt had been needlessly tormented so many times that I felt he was deserving of something a little happier. On the other hand, I do agree that a perfect character would be rather uninteresting. I feel the writers are trying a little to hard to give him some flaws at times (most notably in the "everyone randomly gets drunk"-episode, where he starts questioning his sexuality only to latter realize, in a very short span of time, that he's "100% gay!"). Darren Criss' idea of making him an anti-hero is actually very interesting, but it'd probably make me feel bad for Kurt. Err. Maybe I should wait with commenting on Blaine until I've watched episode 16. (By the way, whose idea was it to make Klaine the portmanteau of their names? Now I keep thinking of this whenever it's mentioned. I'm sure being FE-obsessed has nothing to do with it at all btw)

Finally, I really need to say something about Quinn. I'm not at all pleased with her "arc" in the second season. So far, her character development is only being undone - why not explore her friendship with Mercedes (which has been completely ignored for the entirety of this season), or just her more sisterly/motherly side instead of having her attempt to become the archetypal popular queen bee again? And while it was nice to see how happy she was with Sam, I don't think their relationship did much to further either of the characters. I've already commented on Fuinn, too. I'm a little disappointed. (Maybe she should just stay single. The show lacks single characters. And she was in the celibacy club after all!)

I was planning on writing more, but this is already really long and I'm falling asleep. As always. I'll just save a Brittana rant for tomorrow (this is totally my Glee OTP!). And by then I'll have watched episode 16, too, so it's probably a good idea.

Profile

professor_tammi: (Default)
professor_tammi

December 2011

S M T W T F S
    12 3
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526 2728293031

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 10:58 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios