professor_tammi: (glee)
[personal profile] professor_tammi
Yeah. I actually watched a TV show. I still feel slightly weirded out by this I don't think I've ever seriously done this before (which might have something to do with the fact that the only shows I knew about were really bad over-the-top soap operas I blame my family that's all they ever watch)

But it's ok because I actually liked Glee a lot.

I said I was going to post my thoughts on the characters after finishing season one, so that's what I'll do.

Will kind of... stays mildly irritating to me? But he does seem like a generally nice teacher, horrible decisions and all that aside. I'm glad the thing with Emma was put on hold, at least for a bit, and speaking of Emma, I was fairly impressed with the strength she showed in the finale - where she tried to ensure the Glee Club got another chance. She might have done it for Will, and that's not at all surprising, but imo it's a step forward for her. At the beginning of the series, she was too timid to really voice her own opinions.

As for Terri, she had some very interesting moments in episode 12... to say the least. When she told Will that their marriage only worked because he had no respect for himself, I kind of felt inclined to agree with her. I think she probably has some genuine fans (I haven't actually looked into this fandom yet and I'm a little scared to do so, so this is mostly a guess [and also because Wikipedia mentions "Team Terri"]), but a quick glance at Wikipedia tells me she has mostly haters, which is... eh. Again, not too surprised about this given her personality, but I do think she's well-written. As for what I personally feel... it's still just pity. I feel sorry for her.

I'm liking Sue a lot more than I initially thought I would. I'm also starting to really appreciate her more human qualities, and to be perfectly honest, I'd say that her loneliness making her act like a jerk to practically everyone around her isn't too much of a stretch. It tends to do that to people. (I was still surprised that she voted for New Directions in the Regionals, but it does kind of make sense after thinking about it for a bit - she enjoys her rivalry with Will too much to let it go. And it was also a pretty cute moment, so)

My opinion on Rachel has changed as well. I'm sure the heartwarming scenes she had with Shelby had some part in this (I just really like bittersweet parent-child stuff, idek why), and I actually found her romance with Jesse sort of cute. I like her more than I did when I wrote the first post, so. Jesse himself was also an interesting character, and seemed like a better fit for her than Finn or Puck because he was actually willing to put up with her drama queening. Actually, he even mentions that he likes it. The egging scene close to the season's end felt kind of out of character to me, but. Oh well. Hopefully he'll reappear in the second season.

I'm glad Mercedes was given more screentime, because she's quickly becoming one of my favorites. A-and her friendships with Kurt and Quinn were very well handled! They're just cute~

My opinion on Kurt remains unchanged (ie he is still awesome). I did feel sad to see him force himself to be, well, someone he's not (this is kind of a recurring theme isn't it) in Laryngitis, but in the end I feel that the entire ordeal strengthened him and seeing him sing Rose's Turn afterward was a great moment. Oh and did I mention I like Burt a lot yet yes I already did. The way he accepts and stands up for his son in spite of how different they are just makes me happy.

Tina still doesn't feel like a fully developed character to me, but at least I feel I know enough about her to comment? Sort of. She's shy but nice. I'm really not too sure about what else I should say here.

Quinn is definitely one of my favorites out of the entire cast. I wouldn't normally be particularly interested in your typical "mean girl"-kind of character, but she sort of... turns that cliché upside-down. She's really quite a bit more kind than she normally lets on. I'm not too sure about her mother coming to see her perform in the final episode, though. I just. I couldn't find it in me to forgive her for the way she treated her own daughter. Just. No. I don't think her being scared to stand up to her own husband is any excuse, either.

I actually loved the finale. Especially the performances! They're just so happy. ♥ Actually it made me cry twice, but that's because I'm the biggest sap ever and cry at everything

Anyway

It's 3 AM over here (why can't I rant at more normal times) and I'm tired and I can't think of a good way to end this post, so have a cute gif. Everyone loves gifs (... right?)


(I actually wanted an animated icon, but then I noticed LJ's 40 KB size-limit, messed around with some gifs for over an hour in an attempt to make them smaller, and finally concluded that it would probably be easier for me to just make a normal icon so now I have a non-animated Quinn icon instead. I think I should make an icon of a male character someday I don't know why I don't have any yet)

Profile

professor_tammi: (Default)
professor_tammi

December 2011

S M T W T F S
    12 3
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526 2728293031

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 07:21 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios