professor_tammi: (Default)
[personal profile] professor_tammi
Actually, I have some FE posts planned, but I blame school for not giving me the time to post anything
(even though I don't actually study, I just sit there and procrastinate and worry about all the upcoming tests instead)

I sort of got interested in PMMM because, well, for one it's all over the internet and I just couldn't seem to escape it, and also for another but relatively shallow reason (ie that I like Yuki Kajiura's soundtracks they're just pretty okay i'm sorry). I marathoned most of it today, so if I'm ever going to post something about it, it should be now.

In the end, I'm not too sure what to say about it, actually - angst (or "emotional torture porn", as a very eloquent fandom!secrets anon put it) can be pretty nice sometimes, but honestly, I prefer stories with some fluff interspersed between the serious parts of the plot. Puella Magi Madoka Magica tries to do this, especially in the earlier episodes, but I think it ultimately fails. The cutesy bonding moments just come off as feeling insincere to me; the drama is the strong point of the show, in my opinion. Which makes me a little sad, because moments like those are what really make all the angsting later on count. But I guess I'm alone in thinking this I just have weird ideas

With that said, though, I have to applaud the creators for completely subverting most magical girl anime tropes. Most of them are so sickeningly sweet that I honestly can't stand to watch more than one or two episodes before giving up - no offense to people who like those kind of animes, but it's just not my thing. So the fact that I watched the entire thing and enjoyed it is honestly pretty impressive for a magical girl anime.

I don't want to write a too long rant for once, but I think I'm going to write an extra paragraph about Kyubey. I don't think he (or it, or whatever) was the true villain of the story - he wasn't harvesting energy out of spite. In fact, doing so would obviously have been impossible for him, given that Incubators don't even feel emotions. I would think of some ~intelligent awesome literary analysis theory~ on who the real enemy was but, uh, I'm probably not bright enough to come up with something like that - instead I'll just say that it was the witches. Who are born from despair, so I can't think of a way to not make this sound like a silly response to a Swedish English class assignment, but yeah.
(So in that sense, his cuteness wasn't really that creepy. Or is it just me? Again?)

Edit: oh whoops, there was another thing I wanted to comment on, actually
I don't get why the fact that the souls of the magical girls are removed from their bodies is so horrifying. I mean, they're still in full control of themselves, right? I... just don't see the problem. It's not really comparable to being a zombie.

Also I watched a few episodes of The Big Bang Theory and it was kind of amazing and Sheldon and his mom were the best characters. It was awesome in spite of the incredibly annoying laughtrack, in fact. I wish TV shows didn't have laughtracks because I just do not see the point, at all

Now I'm kind of planning on using it to motivate me to study physics. I get to watch one episode for every thirty minutes of studying. It's probably not going to work but I'm going to try anyway because I have to do three physics tests in a row so I might as well think up another excuse for procrastinating, right?

(Wow this post is kind of amazingly short. Maybe it's because it's not about Fire Emblem? But still. I'm shocked.)

Profile

professor_tammi: (Default)
professor_tammi

December 2011

S M T W T F S
    12 3
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526 2728293031

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 03:19 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios