Gameplay-wise, there are so many moments to choose from. I think FE6's reinforcements appearing before the enemy turn is definitely a noteworthy one. But in general, I'd say FE4 easily wins this contest - just too many "wtf" moments.
For example, Brigidd appearing in the middle of a bunch of pirates the game expects you to save her from when your army is halfway across the already gigantic map (I ended up letting her die and then using the Valkyrie Staff in the same chapter before finally talking to her with Adean for Ichival) - the fact that she's an archer and basically doesn't even get an enemy turn certainly doesn't help; or how about having to protect Lachesis' three knights for an entire chapter, making her very hard to level because they will always go after any enemies in range, meaning she needs to stay away from all enemies; or maybe the complete insanity that is Ishtar's stats in every chapter she appears in? Yeah, that's not even half of it. I don't even want to think about what Thracia 776 will be like.
Story-wise... okay, I have this secret shame: I don't like the ending cinematic to FE9. I think it's mostly just my dislike for Ike/Elincia showing (though I have nothing at all against the shippers - unless they're of the "IT'S TOTALLY CANON!!1" type, which is quite annoying no matter what they ship). Eh, in all honesty, certain incredibly silly shipping wars must have soured me on the scene. Internet forums ruining video games? Who would've guessed. (But the main problem is that I keep these opinions to myself, so getting them down onpaper computer should actually help. Even if it seems like I'm talking to myself. I kind of am, anyway.)
But personally, I see the scene as completely platonic on Ike's side. Elincia most likely still retains some of her hero crush on him, though - but I was really impressed with the fact that she actually got over it in Radiant Dawn. And, really, Elincia's character development is why I really like her as a character. Seeing a JRPG heroine finally get over her crush on the main hero? That's rare. I'm not too sure if it's even been done before. But it's also quite realistic; she's realized that she already has friends and perhaps a lover in Geoffrey who can support her. She isn't the damsel in distress who thought she had lost everyone close to her anymore. But, um, yeah. I don't exactly hate the scene itself that much, mostly the memories of awful debating skills it brings with it, I guess? This is really off-topic, isn't it.
(I think I should just do an FE pairings rant post. I've been meaning to do that for a while now.)
But as far as actual RAEGQUIT scenes go... I think FE7 is pretty good when it comes to that, actually. There's Sonia's completely heartless cruelty towards her adoptive daughter, and (similarly) Desmond's desire to completely ruin the life of his one and only son, born purely out of jealousy. Huh. And they both deal with parental issues. I guess I might as well add Nergal's kidnapping and... mistreatment (to put it very lightly) of his own children, too.
... I just always feel sad for fictional characters with parental issues ;_; I don't even know
On a rather unrelated note, I'm seriously considering making a deviantART account. Art is the only thing I can really contribute to this fandom, so why not? I mean, admittedly I draw really really slowly, but still. It would serve as a nice excuse to continue improving my drawing skills, too. So. Uh. The only problem is that I don't really have much to show yet? But I'm thinking of doing it anyway.
Also apparently I made an LJ friend? Yay ♥
For example, Brigidd appearing in the middle of a bunch of pirates the game expects you to save her from when your army is halfway across the already gigantic map (I ended up letting her die and then using the Valkyrie Staff in the same chapter before finally talking to her with Adean for Ichival) - the fact that she's an archer and basically doesn't even get an enemy turn certainly doesn't help; or how about having to protect Lachesis' three knights for an entire chapter, making her very hard to level because they will always go after any enemies in range, meaning she needs to stay away from all enemies; or maybe the complete insanity that is Ishtar's stats in every chapter she appears in? Yeah, that's not even half of it. I don't even want to think about what Thracia 776 will be like.
Story-wise... okay, I have this secret shame: I don't like the ending cinematic to FE9. I think it's mostly just my dislike for Ike/Elincia showing (though I have nothing at all against the shippers - unless they're of the "IT'S TOTALLY CANON!!1" type, which is quite annoying no matter what they ship). Eh, in all honesty, certain incredibly silly shipping wars must have soured me on the scene. Internet forums ruining video games? Who would've guessed. (But the main problem is that I keep these opinions to myself, so getting them down on
But personally, I see the scene as completely platonic on Ike's side. Elincia most likely still retains some of her hero crush on him, though - but I was really impressed with the fact that she actually got over it in Radiant Dawn. And, really, Elincia's character development is why I really like her as a character. Seeing a JRPG heroine finally get over her crush on the main hero? That's rare. I'm not too sure if it's even been done before. But it's also quite realistic; she's realized that she already has friends and perhaps a lover in Geoffrey who can support her. She isn't the damsel in distress who thought she had lost everyone close to her anymore. But, um, yeah. I don't exactly hate the scene itself that much, mostly the memories of awful debating skills it brings with it, I guess? This is really off-topic, isn't it.
(I think I should just do an FE pairings rant post. I've been meaning to do that for a while now.)
But as far as actual RAEGQUIT scenes go... I think FE7 is pretty good when it comes to that, actually. There's Sonia's completely heartless cruelty towards her adoptive daughter, and (similarly) Desmond's desire to completely ruin the life of his one and only son, born purely out of jealousy. Huh. And they both deal with parental issues. I guess I might as well add Nergal's kidnapping and... mistreatment (to put it very lightly) of his own children, too.
... I just always feel sad for fictional characters with parental issues ;_; I don't even know
On a rather unrelated note, I'm seriously considering making a deviantART account. Art is the only thing I can really contribute to this fandom, so why not? I mean, admittedly I draw really really slowly, but still. It would serve as a nice excuse to continue improving my drawing skills, too. So. Uh. The only problem is that I don't really have much to show yet? But I'm thinking of doing it anyway.
Also apparently I made an LJ friend? Yay ♥
*here comes off a creepy stalker*
Date: 2011-04-28 11:57 am (UTC)Nice to meet you, even if we already know each other on Tumblr if I'm not wrong? Hope you don't mind the add here
Just wanted to say that I love your lj, I keep on reading your FE entries agreeing with everything you say about the games....uh, great minds think alike I guess? XD
By the way I apologize for the watch & run of some days ago, a flu was taking me away from the internet ^^'
On the entry itself, I feel you on Ike/Elincia, I do not ship it but I see the potential, at least in PoR, and wouldn't not mind it itself if its supporters weren't for a great part so...unreasonable.
As much as I OTP Ike with Soren and Elincia with Geoffrey, it would be nice to read a well done fic about Ike and Elincia friendship and unfilled crush during the time, but every fic I've seen is either one of them broodling about their difficults or something overly sappy that doesn't make much sense and feels completely out of chara :/
On the DA account matter..why not? Art is always very welcome and the people in the FE fandom on DA are truly nice and supportive
Re: *here comes off a creepy stalker*
Date: 2011-04-28 06:25 pm (UTC)Don't worry about coming off as a stalker! I'm definitely way more stalkerish than anybody else could ever be, and I've sort of... been stalking you back for a while? Because, um, your art is really gorgeous. And I pretty much read anything FE-related I can find. I love reading about people's opinions on these games. But I really appreciate your comments! I'm so happy to hear that you agree with my entries. Thank you~ (Ah, and I hope your flu has gotten better. I'm sorry to hear about that.)
Mm, I don't think I mind Ike/Elincia shippers as a whole. It's just that the silliest shipping war for the entire series was very closely related to it, and after that I just felt all ":/" whenever the pairing was mentioned. I've mostly gotten over it, thankfully. But yes, they do have some rather shippy moments in PoR - so it's not like the support for it is surprising at all.
I'm kind of curious as to whether there is good Ike/Elincia fic or not, actually! I haven't read much of it. Maybe I should try to see if I could find anything good. (But I've seen others say that a lot of it is OOC, which does sound pretty sad. I honestly think Ike is a really hard character to write well, especially in romantic fan fiction since he's... not exactly the romantic type.)
Yes, I should probably make an account. I think I'm really mostly procrastinating at this point. :)